Asian Sugar Snap Pea Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Recipe flavors were good however I would make a couple changes. Omit the first step re: putting on the oil then cooking for 5 mins. Instead, put on the the soy mixture in the beginning and then broil for about 3 mins. Much better. The oil in the beginning prevents the soy mixture from adhering to the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Delicious hot, better at room temp - which was perfect since I brought it to a potluck. The dish got rave reviews. I made a few changes for personal taste and lack of listed ingredients: 1 clove of minced garlic added to the olive oil instead of the garlic flavored oil; 10 drops of Tabasco instead of chili oil, but next time I'll add more; and more brown sugar - about two tablespoons - yum! I used sugar snap peas fresh picked from my garden and they retained their crunch even when I ate the leftovers later. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Fantastic! To keep the calories down even more I broiled the peas with out oil. I don't think they need it! Then added fresh garlic to the soy sauce, used crushed red pepper flakes instead of the chili and I doubled the sugar, sesame oil is perfect. Loved it! Can't wait to make this with green beans too. Next time I will sprinkle the sesame seeds on right before serving so they don't sink to the bottom with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love sugar snap peas and was so happy to come across this recipe. Usually we just have them with ranch dip at parties, etc. I wanted to serve this as a side dish veggie so here's what I did. I didn't have garlic flavored olive oil so I put the peas in a bowl, drizzled them with some EVOO and mixed in a couple tsp. of minced garlic. Then I transferred this to a rimmed baking sheet that I had coated with cooking spray. I baked them at 400 for about 10-12 minutes, just till slightly tender when pierced with a fork. I used 1/2 tsp. of both the sesame oil and brown sugar and omitted the chili oil (personal preference). They were great as a side dish for baked salmon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great recipe! I actually got my husband to eat sugar snap peas!!! Instead of garlic oil, I used olive oil and minced garlic. I also upped the brown sugar a bit - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. Absolutely delicious. Followed anothers lead and simply drizzled olive oil over the peas omitting the 3TBS. Other than that made exactly as written and it was perfection. A new staple for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
made it ahead and served it cold and it was a hit. I think next time I will use honey instead of brown sugar though so the sauce sticks better to the sugar snap peas. Nice way to add a healthy appetizer. I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
A little EVOO and sesame oil shaken with s/p and sesame seeds. Baked at 450 in over for 15 minutes. Yummy and easy. Thanks for the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Hubby and I both loved these. We got fresh sugar snap peas from the local farmers market and this was the perfect recipe for them...and quick. Watch those peas under the broiler. This will be one of my go-to recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
Wow! Talk about easy - and tasty! I was looking for a quick recipe to use up some sugar snap peas in my fridge, and I just so happened to have everything I needed to make these! They made a great accompaniment to the grilled steaks, baked potatoes and salad we served them with. Even my picky 13-year-old son liked them - the rest of us LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELBERG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prescott, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Grilled Asian Asparagus

A super-simple Asian-inspired marinade makes grilled asparagus special.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States