Asian-Style Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
If I'd learn to read recipes & write neatly, I'd probably do better at cooking in general ... I didn't write down directions only ingredients & a couple brackets to contain groups. I cooked the zucchini till it was nearly ready, not lightly browned; but I guess if you like yours notsodone, that'd be fine. I like browned slices; browned as in the grilled look. Then added 1T sesame seeds. 'Played with them a while to somewhat toast them & added 1T soy sauce. 'Removed from heat. You really don't want to cook soy sauce straight (without being an addition to an already wet sauce). I stirred that just a bit - till it stopped sizzling - & added the 1T sesame oil I thought I read. Right there it was a three star. With a little crushed red pepper, four easy. Adding ginger might be good, too; but I got scared. :o :) Oh, oh, oh, oh, oh, I don't know about other places; but, here, in the South, our zucchini doesn't come in sizes. It's picked at about six inches or less = I used two. It wasn't overly saucey, but a little strong so I added a cup or more of heated, cooked bowtie pasta. Pretty cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Excellent! My wife and I love zucchini and we are always looking for new recipes. Even my son liked this one! I did follow some of the suggestions from others (added fresh garlic instead of powder, cut the sesame seeds in half, and added honey). I did keep the 2 tablespoons of soy sauce as I like that flavor, but I put in one tablespoon early in the frying of the zucchini and another later on. I also used an olive oil cooking spray instead of the butter, to help cut down on the saturated fats. They browned nicely dispite that change. It was great! We will make this again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cold Spring, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I use olive oil to brown the zucchini. I love this and eat this as my meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
very good way to use zucchini. Drizzling honey on it was a very good tip...will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was delicious. I followed an earlier review and added some honey. Another said to reduce the sesame seeds which I also did. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I usually hate zucchini, but this was pretty good. Just to get a variety of veggies I will probably make this again. Just don't put too much soy sauce in it or they will be too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great base dish to play with. Added a bit of onion and half the sesame seeds. Dash of salt was necessary. At end of cooking zucchini, added 1/2 lb chicken breasts cooked in soy sauce with salt/pepper to taste that had been cut in long strips. Served over rice noodles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Sorry, I have multiple issues with this recipe. I don't think 1 zucchini is enough to make 4 servings. I guess it depends on the size, but I would use 2 medium instead. Secondly, why does the ingredient list say to divide the soy sauce? The directions have you put it in all at once. Thirdly, that's too much soy sauce. I would use 1 tbsp. Instead of using garlic powder, I would use 1 clove fresh garlic and also some fresh grated ginger. I would also use olive oil instead of the butter. Also, I think 2 tbsp sesame seeds is too much; 1 tbsp would suffice. As written, this ends up way too salty and is not enough for 4 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseleener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Not bad. I used regular green zucchini and yellow pattypan squash for this, which worked well. I only added a bit of soy sauce and sesame seeds; it really doesnt require a huge amount. Very easy, and quick too. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very tasty. used sesame oil instead of butter. this is a nice change to plain zucchini sides. a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Zucchini turns into tasty “noodles” sautéed with garlic and topped with cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States