Asian-Style Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Loved this! I am familiar with making zucchini this way but I've always used olive oil. Sauteeing the squash in butter, however, really aided in the browning factor and gave this a wonderful, rich color. I used a combo of zucchini and yellow squash, fresh garlic rather than garlic powder, and just used the soy sauce and toasted sesame seeds to taste. Very nice presentation and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
It seemed it was missing something. After reading all the reviews I did as another member had suggested and drizzled honey over it and BAM! that was the flavor this needed. Sounded strange enough to try and I'm glad I did. The honey worked the sesame seeds too. Will make again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Excellent recipe! I have made this with a mixture of zucchini, squash, onions & carrots. They all tasted great, but be careful to not overcook! Have used this recipe several times & it is a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Added some onion and sesame oil to this along with a few seasonings. Very good and enjoyed by all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Excellent! I used 2 cloves minced garlic and only I TB seasame seeds. A big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I think this would taste better with olive oil or peanut oil instead of butter, the butter was a bit heavy. And you don't need to use that many sesame seeds. Otherwise it was alright, I'll make it again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Overall a good recipe - not great, but good. I quartered the zucchini lengthwise, and cooked it as directed (made an interesting presentation). I used fresh garlic and added 2 tsp of honey when adding the soy sauce as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Sorry, I have multiple issues with this recipe. I don't think 1 zucchini is enough to make 4 servings. I guess it depends on the size, but I would use 2 medium instead. Secondly, why does the ingredient list say to divide the soy sauce? The directions have you put it in all at once. Thirdly, that's too much soy sauce. I would use 1 tbsp. Instead of using garlic powder, I would use 1 clove fresh garlic and also some fresh grated ginger. I would also use olive oil instead of the butter. Also, I think 2 tbsp sesame seeds is too much; 1 tbsp would suffice. As written, this ends up way too salty and is not enough for 4 adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseleener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
very tasty. used sesame oil instead of butter. this is a nice change to plain zucchini sides. a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
One word: "Excellent". Even my picky 9 year old daughter liked it! I will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by curttori

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Gluten-free vegetable noodles made from zucchini.

Grilled Lemon Pepper Zucchini

See how to make summer’s ideal side dish starring zucchini and yellow squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States