Asian Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
I really enjoyed this meatloaf. It sort of tasted like a big potsticker. As much as I love hoisin I would have to agree with the other reviewer that the glaze would have been overpowering as written (I adjusted to 1/4 c. ketchup 2 T. hoisin). I also added some chopped cilantro. Would definetely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
I made this just as written and had to scrape off the topping....all that Hoisin sauce completely overpowered a great meatloaf. Surely this was a typo that should have read 1/2c catsup & 2T Hoisin..... although I had better luck with 1/4c catsup & 1-2 teaspoons Hoisin....but the meatloaf itself is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
very tasty...I made them into meatballs to have as appetizers and finger foods. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This meatloaf tasted horrible! I am Asian, and this definitely does not taste like an Asian dish. If you're looking for a great tasting meatloaf, try the Brown Sugar Meatloaf on this site. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Was a bit disappointed with this one. It was bland for our tastes. I think we'll be sticking with some of our other meatloaf recipes. We enjoyed trying it though, so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
My husband, who as a rule, doesn't care for ginger, loved this. I adore ginger, but wasn't crazy about the flavor combination! It was easy and unusual, though, and I'll make it again just because my husband enjoyed it so much. Served it with roasted asparagus topped with toasted sesame seeds and jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Excellent recipe. I used ground turkey to make a bit lighter and instead of celery I used chopped water chestnuts. Added a great crunch and a bit more Asian flair!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I found the taste of the meat loaf itself to be mild. Next time I will add some garlic and be sure to chop the onion finer. Baked as 9 mini-loafs with no problems. Used better plain ground pork and did not have to drain fat. I used 1/4 cup soy granules instead of 2 of the 3 slices of bread - worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Flavor and moistness. After the first time I made it the requests keep coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I LOVED this, but I'm a BIG fan of Hoisin sauce. My DD and DH thought the sauce was a little heavy, but what do they know?! Next time the only thing different I will do is cut the celery and onion up a lot finer. Other than that this is really good and different thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States