Asian Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
this is the first recipe I have ever made from here that I hated...it smelled good and looked good but the main and overwhelming flavor was SALT.I will not be making this again...but if you do try it-watch the soy and hoisin levels and definately reverse the topping ingred amounts or this will be another waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This is definately a "keeper" Meatloaf isn't huge in Australia but I am glad I tried it as the whole family loved it! I sort of flatten mine out in a casserole dish so it cooks quicker. Great weekday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
My husband and kids thought this was a very good recipe. I did add an additional 1/2 cup of dry bread crumbs. I made sure that the onion and celery were finely chopped. I also took the other reader's advice and used 1/2 cup ketchup and 2 tablespoons hoisin sauce for the glase on top. It turned out moist and it held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
This was a wonderful recipe. I made this recipe with 1.25 lbs of ground turkey, used only one egg, two slices of bread, added a heaping spoonful of minced garlic, and left the remaining ingredients the same. This recipe is now my favorite meatloaf. It had a great refreshing taste, and the hoisin sauce adds the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
I made this meat loaf, instead of bread crumbs, I used saltine cracker crumbs and all beef. My husband loved it...raved and raved....very moist...also I think it is important to make sure the celery is finely chopped, I used a chopper. It is definately a keeper....I would not hestiate to serve this to company...it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I liked this but found it a little salty for my taste. Next time I'll try it with just 2 Tblsp soy sauce instead of 3. I added about 2 cloves of minced garlic and used 1 pound of ground beef and 1 pound of ground chicken. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This was great. However, I did make some minor alterations. Since I did not have any ground pork, I used 2 lbs. of ground chuck. I used 1/2 cup breadcrumbs instead of the bread slices. I did not use the celery or the ginger but used garlic powder instead and about a 1/2 cup of chopped bell pepper. And like other reviewers, I used 1/2 cup ketchup and 2 tablespoons of hoisin sauce for the topping. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Nice alternative to boring meatloaf - I made this with ground turkey, and it came out really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I thought this was a great recipe. I made a couple of changes. I added about 2 cloves of fresh garlic, substituted the celery for celery seed about 1/4 tsp or less, and used more bread crumbs and an extra TB of hoisin sauce. I also switched around the measurements for the glaze using 1/2 ketchup and 2 TB hoisin sauce. This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crumpet

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
GREAT! Like another reviewer said: "good from the usual-type meatloaf. I've made it 2 times. Went exactly by recipe the first time, 2nd time I used 'purchased' breadcrumbs and used only 1/2 cup. This is a "keeper" for us. Our family all liked it. Do NOT add salt. Hoisin is already salty enough. Katherine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States