Asian Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I have made this twice and given to friends who raved. Awesome with some little changes... I have used both ground chicken/pork and ground turkey/pork combo for a lighter texture. Definately use fresh bread(not dry crumbs)- I used some home-made sour dough I had on hand. I would follow the changes noted by others on the top sauce. Reverse the catsup and Hoison amts. Also add a few pepper flakes. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
My husband loved this dish, and he is from Argentina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herriman, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I love hoisin sauce and meatloaf, so I was very excited to try this recipe. After reading the other reviews, I flipped the proportions of the ketchup and hoisin, and it still tasted plenty hoisiny. The meatloaf was very good on top of a pile of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaShel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was a wonderful variation of meatloaf. I also added red/yellow peppers as well as a tsp of adobo sauce for some additional spice. In the final stage of covering, I did the 1/4 c. ketsup as well as the 3 tsp of Hoison. I added as splash of rice vinegar and a squeeze of lime. Served with white rice and was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
5 stars all the way! I added 2 jalapenos and toasted the bread slices before I chopped them. Also sliced a few green onions to toss on top when serving. This was fabulous - the boyfriend and I devoured it! Thanks so much for the recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I found the taste of the meat loaf itself to be mild. Next time I will add some garlic and be sure to chop the onion finer. Baked as 9 mini-loafs with no problems. Used better plain ground pork and did not have to drain fat. I used 1/4 cup soy granules instead of 2 of the 3 slices of bread - worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I love this recipe and tend to double the sauce (to each his own!). I've made it with beef only or a mix of pork and beef - both are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I thought this recipe was a 7 out of ten,I added dry mustard (very good!) and little extra ketchup to the topping, two large finely chopped jalapenos and some chopped garlic to the loaf. It tasted good and was moist but firm and had a great texture if I make it again I will add another jalapeno more garlic and maybe try bread crumbs or oats instead of bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Not my favorite, but my husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I made this as appetizer meatballs without the topping, I prepared the meatballs the night before and just popped them in the oven when I needed them. They were good served with Sweet Chili Thai Sauce which complimented the saltiness of them. As a meatloaf it would be way too salty in my opinion, the salt actually over powers the ginger and other flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Berryblue031

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States