Asian Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Too sweet - Maybe different brands of Hoisin are sweeter than others, but I didn't use but maybe 3/4 of the called-for amount for the glaze and it was still too sweet. I also left out the celery, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Since my family refuses to eat meatloaves, but will scarf down meatballs like they're going out of style, I made the recipe as directed, but made meatballs instead that I pan sauteed until they were brown on all sides. Then I turned down the heat, poured on the remaining basting sauce, and simmered until brown all the way through. Served them with flatbreads, jasmine rice, and steamed veggies. HUGE hit!! I also plan to make these as a twist on your usual cocktail BBQ meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Easy to make, and big thumbs up from wife and daughters! One suggested I even put MORE of the hoisin/ketchup topping on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
very good recipe. I used ketjap manis, an Indonesian sauce, rather than Hoisin and tamari instead of soy-sauce because I am gluten free and everyone loved it. I substituted the celery for green pepper because it wasn't in season in the Netherlands and difficult to find. I also added a little garlic powder and black pepper. Everyone is looking forward to the left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Omg soooo good..I just made this meatloaf its amazing, though I did make it with a few changes, i used 2lbs beef and 1lb hot ground italian sausage,I used oatmeal instead of bread and made the hoisin sauce myself. I also topped it with m&m meats Thai sweet and spicy sauce instead of what the recipe called for. Omg sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I have made this a couple of different ways now. I used low sodium soy sauce to cut out some of the salt. I used ground turkery instead of beef, which kept down alot of the fat in the bottom of the pan. Everyone that I have shared it with loves it and asks for more. I like the fact that its easy to make. Definatly recommend to anyone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
A different twist on an old favorite. I was a bit low on hoisin sauce so prepared the sauce with just under 1/2 C. ketchup and 3 tablespoons hoisin sauce. Very good. Will try more hoisin sauce and less ketchup in sauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
The picture with the red potatoes and corn is mine and am making it again tonight,, lil less hoisen posibly,, slices great fo sandwich..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Even with adjusting the hoisin and ketchup glaze, this was just too sweet for us. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I loved it!! it was so good. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States