Asian Style Country Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I've made BBQ ribs in the slow cooker dozens of times, they always turn out moist & delicious but I was looking for a change from BBQ. Used the ingredients exactly as written but we found them too salty, otherwise the flavor was okay, they were edible, but we didn't even want to have seconds, as if they wouldn't have been worth the mess and effort involved with eating ribs. They were also on the dry side, even though I cooked them with the marinade, & I only cooked them on low 8 hours instead of 9 (which I always do with BBQ ribs). I've never had with BBQ ribs come out dry, perhaps marinading 8 hours in salty soy sauce is what made them dry. I ended up picking off the meat & using it with other meats & veggies in fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
These were so salty we couldn't even eat them!!! Never again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were so good, we really enjoyed them. I loved how they were so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Something my finicky hubby and kids will eat too. After reading the reviews, I opted to cook on low heat, 275 degrees, in a dutch even, with all of the marinade. Making it for the second time, I made some small adjustments. I eliminated the olive oil all together and used half of the sesame oil; I found the first time around to be too oily for my taste. I doubled the sriracha but we tend to like things with a bit of a kick. I used low sodium soy sauce and used a combination of boneless and bone-in country style ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I read the reviews but realized I did not have low sodium soy sauce. The ribs came out way to salty, almost to the point of inedible. Next time I would probably add just 2 tablespoons of soy sauce and add water and perhaps some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie_53202

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pretty good, nice mild asian flavor. I made the marinade and then froze the ribs in ziplock bags soaking in it. Then thawed them in fridge on a day when I was ready to use. Put them in crockpot with all the marinade(for more flavor I was hoping)and cooked for about 8 hours on low. The ribs were tender although slightly dry - as all meat tends to get in the crock pot (for me at least). Flavor was nice and light - husband thought it was pretty good, though I was hoping for a bit more punch. Will probably use the marinade again but try to thicken it more like a glaze and use it in a different method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Too sweet and salty for our liking, and that was after I cut the brown sugar in half and didn't put in the full amount of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Wonderful! Here is my quick adjustment. Forgot to marinade in fridge, so I made the marinade (a little less soy) and put into slow cooker with half-frozen boneless ribs. Put on high for most of day(to make sure pork was done in time), then at the end changed to low and took out the pork, shredded it - Here is best part - threw out the marinade/juice in the slow cooker - made another batch of marinade and put over the shredded pork. Put all back in slow cooker to heat up and my entire picky family LOVED it! Served with rice and green beans. So easy!! Oh, used red pepper flakes & ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this as written and it was easy and turned out tasty. I marinated it overnight. It was very tender and great over rice. I served with a side of bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe! I served it over brown rice and stir fried vegies. I chose to leave out the ginger and did not marinade over night, and it still had great flavor. It's a great change from the typical bbq sauce recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States