Asian Style Country Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Lots of flavor! I also added honey to balance the saltiness of the soy sauce. Cut the sesame oil oil to 1-2 Tbsp. baked at 350 for an hour. Not as tender as the crock pot but still yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raywolf75

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I've never had much like with ribs, I suppose that's why I'm not a fan but my husband picked some up on sale. I scaled the recipe back for 8 ribs but followed the directions to a "T". only change I'd make in the future is a touch less sesame oil, for personal taste. Other that the ribs were tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was a super easy recipe and was delicious! I decreased the brown sugar by half. I used garlic salt and ginger powder as I didn't have fresh. The taste of the sesame oil and rice vinegar supported the Asian style so don't substitute those. I didn't drain the liquid before cooking as the liquid just made the meat more juicy. Next time I would add double the Siracha for more kick. Served in soft taco's with shredded cabbage, mayo/Siracha sauce, cilantro and lime juice (my husband could not stop talking about how good they were). A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I've made BBQ ribs in the slow cooker dozens of times, they always turn out moist & delicious but I was looking for a change from BBQ. Used the ingredients exactly as written but we found them too salty, otherwise the flavor was okay, they were edible, but we didn't even want to have seconds, as if they wouldn't have been worth the mess and effort involved with eating ribs. They were also on the dry side, even though I cooked them with the marinade, & I only cooked them on low 8 hours instead of 9 (which I always do with BBQ ribs). I've never had with BBQ ribs come out dry, perhaps marinading 8 hours in salty soy sauce is what made them dry. I ended up picking off the meat & using it with other meats & veggies in fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
These were so salty we couldn't even eat them!!! Never again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were so good, we really enjoyed them. I loved how they were so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Something my finicky hubby and kids will eat too. After reading the reviews, I opted to cook on low heat, 275 degrees, in a dutch even, with all of the marinade. Making it for the second time, I made some small adjustments. I eliminated the olive oil all together and used half of the sesame oil; I found the first time around to be too oily for my taste. I doubled the sriracha but we tend to like things with a bit of a kick. I used low sodium soy sauce and used a combination of boneless and bone-in country style ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I read the reviews but realized I did not have low sodium soy sauce. The ribs came out way to salty, almost to the point of inedible. Next time I would probably add just 2 tablespoons of soy sauce and add water and perhaps some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie_53202

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pretty good, nice mild asian flavor. I made the marinade and then froze the ribs in ziplock bags soaking in it. Then thawed them in fridge on a day when I was ready to use. Put them in crockpot with all the marinade(for more flavor I was hoping)and cooked for about 8 hours on low. The ribs were tender although slightly dry - as all meat tends to get in the crock pot (for me at least). Flavor was nice and light - husband thought it was pretty good, though I was hoping for a bit more punch. Will probably use the marinade again but try to thicken it more like a glaze and use it in a different method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Too sweet and salty for our liking, and that was after I cut the brown sugar in half and didn't put in the full amount of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States