Asian Style Country Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
These were so good, we really enjoyed them. I loved how they were so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Something my finicky hubby and kids will eat too. After reading the reviews, I opted to cook on low heat, 275 degrees, in a dutch even, with all of the marinade. Making it for the second time, I made some small adjustments. I eliminated the olive oil all together and used half of the sesame oil; I found the first time around to be too oily for my taste. I doubled the sriracha but we tend to like things with a bit of a kick. I used low sodium soy sauce and used a combination of boneless and bone-in country style ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I read the reviews but realized I did not have low sodium soy sauce. The ribs came out way to salty, almost to the point of inedible. Next time I would probably add just 2 tablespoons of soy sauce and add water and perhaps some water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trixie_53202

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Pretty good, nice mild asian flavor. I made the marinade and then froze the ribs in ziplock bags soaking in it. Then thawed them in fridge on a day when I was ready to use. Put them in crockpot with all the marinade(for more flavor I was hoping)and cooked for about 8 hours on low. The ribs were tender although slightly dry - as all meat tends to get in the crock pot (for me at least). Flavor was nice and light - husband thought it was pretty good, though I was hoping for a bit more punch. Will probably use the marinade again but try to thicken it more like a glaze and use it in a different method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Too sweet and salty for our liking, and that was after I cut the brown sugar in half and didn't put in the full amount of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Wonderful! Here is my quick adjustment. Forgot to marinade in fridge, so I made the marinade (a little less soy) and put into slow cooker with half-frozen boneless ribs. Put on high for most of day(to make sure pork was done in time), then at the end changed to low and took out the pork, shredded it - Here is best part - threw out the marinade/juice in the slow cooker - made another batch of marinade and put over the shredded pork. Put all back in slow cooker to heat up and my entire picky family LOVED it! Served with rice and green beans. So easy!! Oh, used red pepper flakes & ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this as written and it was easy and turned out tasty. I marinated it overnight. It was very tender and great over rice. I served with a side of bok choy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Loved this recipe! I served it over brown rice and stir fried vegies. I chose to leave out the ginger and did not marinade over night, and it still had great flavor. It's a great change from the typical bbq sauce recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
After carefully reading all reviews, I tried this. As I was making the marinade, I could already tell things were wrong (taste tested as I added items). The marinade did not taste like lime or ginger so I ended up increasing it to 6 T lime juice and 5 T (minced "prepared" found in produce section) ginger. There was also not much vinegar flavor so I added 6 T rice vinegar (I really love a vinegar taste to shredded pork so I needed to taste it). I reduced the soy to 2/3 c to avoid it being too salty. And in the end I increased the brown sugar to 1/2 c due to the vinegar and lime being a bit sour. I left out the garlic, as our family doesn't care for it. So then I put in the meat and stuck it in the fridge to marinade. 4 hours into the marinading I realized I didn't plan dinner that night, so I decided I would go ahead and cook the ribs for dinner that night. After 1 more hour marinading, I stuck it on 6 hours on HIGH in my crock, marinade left in (bc I was sure they would dry out w/o it--very good decision BTW). After about 5.5 hours I checked them and they were done--almost dry but with the marinade they were great. Taste was FANTASTIC...only thing I would change is decreasing the sesame oil...not sure how much bc it was only SLIGHTLY overpowering...some said switching the olive and sesame but that's not the solution bc then you lose the sesame essence which is one of the biggest reasons it called ASIAN ribs...maybe just use a little over 1/8 c sesame? I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelhlea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This recipe was fabulous! I bought 2 racks of ribs for my family of kids (my kids don't usually eat much) and there were only 4 ribs left. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States