Asian Stir Fry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Most of the ratings are high for this stir-fry sauce despite so many of the reviewers mentioning cutting the corn starch (too thick), leaving out the corn syrup (too sweet) and cutting the soy sauce (too salty). Well, I've made the sauce twice now following the recipe, and each time it thickened up to the consistency of a terribly sweet and salty gelatinous mass that I couldn't even pour without stirring in extra water. Even so, I have a hunch that eliminating the corn syrup, cutting the corn starch by half and cutting back on the soy sauce (or using a low-sodium variety) just might make it pretty good. As is, though, nope, neither I nor my wife liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is a good "all purpose" Asian sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Very thick and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
We made this tonight because we were all out of stir fry sauce and needed a quick recipe. This was wonderful. I tripled the recipe because we were making enough food for seven people and I would have been fine doubling it. I made it almost exactly as written, except I added extra garlic and once it was nice and bubbly I thought it needed more sugar and ginger. Everyone kept raving about how good it was, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
No thanks won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
SOOO good! I followed directions exactly (grated ginger) and it always tastes good. If making with stir fry I suggest only drizzling sauce over vegetables and meat because it can overpower if too much is used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cm28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
great sauce however in trying to cut just a few calories I used coconut milk in place of the karo syrup with a little agave nectar, added some cashews for crunch and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I appreciate this as a nice base recipe. It can easily be adapted to meet someone's flavor preferences. I like that it thickens up nicely. I use Costco's frozen stirfry veggies, and they tend to be a little watery, so this is a perfect balance. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have made this too many times to remember. I never have cornstarch or corn syrup in the house, so I just omit them and it always comes out as a great stir fry sauce anyways. I use it for vegetable and quinoa stirfries almost weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Made this tonight and it was DELICIOUS and easy! I will NEVER used bottled again. The fam said how good it was every other bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States