Asian Shrimp Rice Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
The Whole family enjoyed this meal. I made a few changes. I would recommend first stir frying the shrimp and set aside. do not marinate the shrimp because mine got mushy. I pretty much used the same recipe but I didnt have chili paste so i substituted 1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes. I added some shrooms. I stirfried veggies, then added cooked shrimp and the sauce mixture. For the sauce mixture I reduced garlic to 2 teaspoons because I thought it would be too much. I recommend reducing the ginger to 1 teaspoon because it was too gingering and made my mouth tingle. So I basically used the same recipe except reduced the garlic and ginger and substituted red pepper flakes for the chili paste. Very flavorful and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
instead of sugar snap peas use regular peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
We loved this. The flavors are bold, spicy and sweet. My husband said this was the best asian dinner I have ever made...and believe me, I have made many asian recipes off of this site. Finally, the flavors we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Excellent! Easy to double or adjust to individual preferences. I couldn't get it out of the wok and to the table quick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinehurst, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I followed the recipe, almost to a tee (I doubled the shrimp - I had to, I didn't want to arm wrestle anyone for an extra shrimp or two). The dish was delicious and so easy to prepare. It's a great mid-week meal for a busy family. It was my first occasion to cook Jasmine rice. I looked at the directions on the rice box - looked ant the recipe, and ended up following the Shrimp Bowl Recipe (3 cups water/2 cups rice - no salt - no oil). It was PERFECT and really brought the Asian flavors together. With the sweet and salty sauce on the dish, the simple jasmine rice completely balanced the dish. Thanks Sarah B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BisBatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Wonderful! We cut back on the ginger and I have no idea what chili paste is so we just used about a teaspoon of red pepper flake for some heat. Even my 4 year olds gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knoxlette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Loved this! I made a couple changes. First, I only had raw shrimp, so instead of marinating I just sauteed the veggies first and set aside, then sauteed the shrimp with the sauce until almost cooked through and added veggies back in. Also, I just had brown rice so cooked that per usual. Great recipe- will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Great recipe. Loved the flavor combination. Will add more shrimp next time though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oelwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I let the shrimp marinade overnight which I'm not sure if that made a huge difference but I thought it turned out very well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Followed a reviewer's suggestion to reduce the ginger. Otherwise, followed the recipe and we thought it was wonderful. Just a hint of heat. Will definately fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States