Asian Salmon Wrap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This recipe rocks! I had to make a couple changes to suit my family, so here's what I did -- The cucumber I bought at the store had a really bitter flavor (??? it looked fine!) so I substituted slices of avocado, instead. Instead of tossing the dressing with the avocado, I just put it in a squirt bottle and drizzled it over the wrap once I had it assembled. It was DELISH! My picky family loved it, and I love that this dish can be customized any way you want. I put out some of our favorite sushi condiments as well (pickled ginger, wasabi for the brave...) and everyone loved it. I can totally see turning this into a fun party appetizer, by making pinwheels with the ingredients. Sort of like sushi for those too chicken to try sushi! I had no problem with canned salmon. If you get a good quality salmon, it works just fine. It would be fine with grilled salmon, as well. Thanks for this recipe! This is definitely going into frequent rotation at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Burch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Great recipe - the flavors of sushi but quick and easy to make. I used fresh ginger, which added a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I love this idea. I went a little crazy with it when I made it because I wanted it to fit with what I had at the time, but the results were fantastic--really light, but very filling. I julienned cucumber, daikon, carrots, and white onion. I sauted a little gai-lan in peanut oil. Heated the tortilla in the same oil and then proceeded to fry some 1/4 block of tofu (I didn't have any salmon). I layed the julienned veggies and tofu in the tortilla with some green onions (only the greens) split length-wise, pickled ginger, 1/2 sliced avocado, and Sriracha sauce. For the dressing I mixed a teaspoon of the juice from the pickled ginger with the soy sauce, rice vinegar, wasabi paste, sesame seeds, the diced whites from the green onions, and half a teaspoon of sugar. I spooned the dressing on to the insides before I wrapped it up. I had some left over veggies and dressing so I made a little side salad with it. It was a wonderful and easy lunch that I'll certainly make again. Next time I think I'll add some nori and try it with the salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made several changes, but I kept the spirit of the recipe, and I really liked this. I used fresh salmon, which I baked with leftover homemade Pad Thai sauce; used brown rice and whole-wheat tortilla; grated the daikon and cuke; used chopped pickled ginger and more wasabi; toasted the sesame seeds; and mixed all ingredients (including the sauce) together. I added a sheet of nori on top of the tortilla, spooned in the mix, and rolled it all up--delish! I'd also serve this in a bibb/Boston lettuce leaf. Big bonus--not a lot of dishes to clean afterward!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
We loved this. We doubled the sauce and veggies and used sweet brown rice and "Flatout" wraps. Like the description says, the dressing and textures are a great combination. I used apple cider vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar because that is what I had on hand. Our 1yr old connoisseur asked for 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sher.
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I followed recipe except used fresh fish and I didn't have sesame seeds. My friend & I give 4 stars. Son and friend added sriracha sauce to their wraps and gave 3 stars. I baked salmon with salt,pepper & olive oil. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I love sushi, but nori paper is so expensive. This gives me my fix! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I followed the advice of a number of the reviews and used what I had on hand. I had leftover maple baked salmon (from AllRecipes!) and whole wheat rice. I heat it up a little because cold rice is not too tasty. I didn't have the radish so added thin slices of red peppers. Easy and fancy lunch! Thank you, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This recipe was good and I will make it again. Be warned though it can turn out very salty. Next time I will use redused salt soy sauce and/or but salt free salmon. I also added chopped carrots in place of the radish and added honey. I made this in a flour tortilla wrap and added a slice of romaine lettuce. This turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
4 1/2 stars, actually. Very nice blend of flavors - this is great when you don't feel like heating up the house with the oven and want something light and fresh. A couple of things I'll do differently next time ~ I discovered that I dislike canned salmon, so I'd use either fresh or pieces of tuna steak or shrimp - I think the tuna and/or shrimp would work nicely here. Secondly, I'd make more of the soy sauce mixture - Loved the taste and felt the wraps could have used more. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States