Asian Salmon Cakes with Creamy Miso and Sake Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I roast my own salmon and flaked it for this recipe. The sauce was great but the salmon cakes were a little dry. I might use a combination of dry and fresh bread crumbs next time. They were quite flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Thought it was ok. I made the thickness about 1/2 inch on the 2 inch variety. Not sure it was cooked through even though the outsides were nicely browned (had heat med high). Will try to reheat later in the oven to see if that takes care of it. Had trouble thickening the sauce, will probably thicken with some flour later but sauce was not as deep a flavor as I expected. Think the cakes would go just as well with a salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Turned out great. Like others, I made some minor changes, using more salmon to increase the ratio of meat to crumbs; I also had to double the egg mixture. I had no sake, so used mirin. I'm not sure if that's why the sauce seems a little sweet. No big deal, it's really tasty anyways. One quibble with the directions: I had to really almost boil my sauce to thicken it. In my cooking lexicon, a simmer is just a few bubbles at the center; I hd to get the sauce going a lot harder than that to get it to the right consistency. Once I did, all was good. I served this dish with a simple Japanese sunomono (pickled cucumber) salad and got rave reviews from the family. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I had a big fear of canned salmon but it worked well with a few modifications. This sauce is great but, because of my fear of can salmon, I was afraid it would be too salty. I added mirin and 1/2 tsp. of sugar to sweeten it up a little to combat the salt. This was wonderful. I also added pickled ginger to the patties. These two additions added a great flavor to an already great recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Love this dish! I make it all the time. Sometimes I subsitute a dry white wine for sake if I don't have any and it works well. We like to eat it with steamed bok choy and rice and drizzle the sauce all over it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfrancioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicci
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I must say that this dish was absolutely delicious. I used authentic Miso paste and Sesame oil from Japan. I used a tablespoon of the Miso paste, and it was a little too much. The other user was right. You just need maybe half a tablespoon, but all other measurements were perfect. Salmon cakes came out good texture, and the sauce with it was yummm. I made my own chinese fried rice to go with it, and it was really tasty, my hubby just ate up the whole dish! It came out to be about 7 salmon cakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was a crowd-pleaser served with teriyaki rice. I loved LOVED! the miso cream sauce. I was amazing. I little goes a long, long way, so don't make much. The sauce would be good with sushi as well. As for the salmon cakes, they left something to be desired, but the overall flavor with the sauce was good. I would like to know if someone has a better basic "cake" recipe because it was a bit bland. There was too much bread crumb to the rest. But I assume if we decreased the bread crumbs the patties would fall apart. I don't know... I will definitely make this again. I will probably try some variations to the patty next time. Don't know what that will consist of yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I LOVED this recipe; yummy yum yum. And healthy for you too! I added slightly more salmon as I had some leftovers which I combined with a can of Sockeye. I also used Soy Milk instead of milk since I'm learning to eat for my blood type. I used rye bread for the bread crumbs for the same reason. I highly recommend this one guys, 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cinnybear
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This recipe is amazing with a few mods: -saute onions (and cilantro if you prefer a mellow taste) before mixing with the salmon mixture -if you don't have heavy cream, use a combination of butter and milk. Then mix in some cornstarch or flour to thicken the sauce -Cut down the breadcrumbs by at least half! -If you don't have sake, use cooking wine or any type of white wine. -Cut the sauce recipe in half unless you will be using it for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this recipe tonight to the letter. I tasted the sauce before serving and decided to add about a tsp of fresh grated ginger. It was delicious. Very simple recipe for salmon cakes and the sauce was just flavorful enough to complement without killing the taste of the salmon. I often make salmon cakes and get crazy with the ingredients trying to spice things up but this is a great recipe that lets you enjoy the simple goodness that is a salmon cake. I served this with steamed baby bok choy and the Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad recipe from this site (substituting hoisin sauce for the fish sauce and adding a tbsp of rice vinegar). Everything went together very well. Will definitely add this to my permanent recipe book. Thanks for sending it in. Oh, the sauce made a lot more than I needed for the 6 salmon cakes I got out of the recipe so I might try it as a pasta sauce tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States