Asian Salmon Cakes with Creamy Miso and Sake Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Love this staple at our house! remember that canned salmon is DRY and you can cut WAY back on the bread crumbs! Here in Canada, we get a lot of great fresh & moist salmon so the bread crumbs keep it all together. (The salmon will stay moist if you dont overcook it when your using BBQ leftovers!) Kinda of like meatballs, use your hands and eyes to tell how much bread crumbs is enough! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNNY OH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Easy to prepare and quite delicious. The sauce seems flexible enough to use with chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Nagaoka, Niigata, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Very easy to make and was a bit hit at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I love crab cakes and was a bit apprehensive about using salmon and cilantro in this recipe. I didn't have any soy sauce on hand but I did have fish sauce (don't ask). The cakes along with the sauce were worthy of a fine Asian restaurant, baked or fried. I'll definitely add this dish to my reperatoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
These were wonderful!!! I used miso soup base, because I couldn't find miso paste and I used fresh salmon. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. They had a great flavor and texture and the sauce was fabulous. These were better than any crab/fish cakes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Great recipe! Nice variation on basic salmon patties. Did some tweaking because it did seem like proportions were out. Here are my changes: Sauce-doubled garlic to 4 cloves -doubled green onion to 2 stems -halved lime juice to 2 T. -added 2tsp. wasabi powder Patties-halved bread crumbs to 3/4 c. -used 1 lb. leftover salmon (fresh not canned, cooked) -finely mince onions -form into patties and refrigerate at least 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe was great! My two year old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this recipe tonight to the letter. I tasted the sauce before serving and decided to add about a tsp of fresh grated ginger. It was delicious. Very simple recipe for salmon cakes and the sauce was just flavorful enough to complement without killing the taste of the salmon. I often make salmon cakes and get crazy with the ingredients trying to spice things up but this is a great recipe that lets you enjoy the simple goodness that is a salmon cake. I served this with steamed baby bok choy and the Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad recipe from this site (substituting hoisin sauce for the fish sauce and adding a tbsp of rice vinegar). Everything went together very well. Will definitely add this to my permanent recipe book. Thanks for sending it in. Oh, the sauce made a lot more than I needed for the 6 salmon cakes I got out of the recipe so I might try it as a pasta sauce tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I LOVED this recipe; yummy yum yum. And healthy for you too! I added slightly more salmon as I had some leftovers which I combined with a can of Sockeye. I also used Soy Milk instead of milk since I'm learning to eat for my blood type. I used rye bread for the bread crumbs for the same reason. I highly recommend this one guys, 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicci
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I must say that this dish was absolutely delicious. I used authentic Miso paste and Sesame oil from Japan. I used a tablespoon of the Miso paste, and it was a little too much. The other user was right. You just need maybe half a tablespoon, but all other measurements were perfect. Salmon cakes came out good texture, and the sauce with it was yummm. I made my own chinese fried rice to go with it, and it was really tasty, my hubby just ate up the whole dish! It came out to be about 7 salmon cakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States