Asian Salmon Cakes with Creamy Miso and Sake Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Great recipe! Nice variation on basic salmon patties. Did some tweaking because it did seem like proportions were out. Here are my changes: Sauce-doubled garlic to 4 cloves -doubled green onion to 2 stems -halved lime juice to 2 T. -added 2tsp. wasabi powder Patties-halved bread crumbs to 3/4 c. -used 1 lb. leftover salmon (fresh not canned, cooked) -finely mince onions -form into patties and refrigerate at least 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe (and it was a hit with my 1 yr old, too, and "okay" with my 7 year old and 36 year old). I made quite a few modifications, because I made it impromptu. For the sauce, I did not have miso or sake. I added rice wine vinegar instead of the sake (not quite 1/4 cup) and extra lime. I think that the cakes are good on their own--better without the sauce--or maybe just a little lime/butter sauce would be good. I amended the cakes as well, since the proportion seemed off. I used a whole can of salmon (14 oz), and less bread crumbs--maybe 1 cup max? I had to use 2 eggs to get them moist enough. I added a bit of lime juice as well. My 7 year old complained that there were too many onions, so I'd chop them more finely next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I made this recipe tonight to the letter. I tasted the sauce before serving and decided to add about a tsp of fresh grated ginger. It was delicious. Very simple recipe for salmon cakes and the sauce was just flavorful enough to complement without killing the taste of the salmon. I often make salmon cakes and get crazy with the ingredients trying to spice things up but this is a great recipe that lets you enjoy the simple goodness that is a salmon cake. I served this with steamed baby bok choy and the Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad recipe from this site (substituting hoisin sauce for the fish sauce and adding a tbsp of rice vinegar). Everything went together very well. Will definitely add this to my permanent recipe book. Thanks for sending it in. Oh, the sauce made a lot more than I needed for the 6 salmon cakes I got out of the recipe so I might try it as a pasta sauce tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicci
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I must say that this dish was absolutely delicious. I used authentic Miso paste and Sesame oil from Japan. I used a tablespoon of the Miso paste, and it was a little too much. The other user was right. You just need maybe half a tablespoon, but all other measurements were perfect. Salmon cakes came out good texture, and the sauce with it was yummm. I made my own chinese fried rice to go with it, and it was really tasty, my hubby just ate up the whole dish! It came out to be about 7 salmon cakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was a crowd-pleaser served with teriyaki rice. I loved LOVED! the miso cream sauce. I was amazing. I little goes a long, long way, so don't make much. The sauce would be good with sushi as well. As for the salmon cakes, they left something to be desired, but the overall flavor with the sauce was good. I would like to know if someone has a better basic "cake" recipe because it was a bit bland. There was too much bread crumb to the rest. But I assume if we decreased the bread crumbs the patties would fall apart. I don't know... I will definitely make this again. I will probably try some variations to the patty next time. Don't know what that will consist of yet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I had a big fear of canned salmon but it worked well with a few modifications. This sauce is great but, because of my fear of can salmon, I was afraid it would be too salty. I added mirin and 1/2 tsp. of sugar to sweeten it up a little to combat the salt. This was wonderful. I also added pickled ginger to the patties. These two additions added a great flavor to an already great recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Love this dish! I make it all the time. Sometimes I subsitute a dry white wine for sake if I don't have any and it works well. We like to eat it with steamed bok choy and rice and drizzle the sauce all over it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lfrancioni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
These were wonderful!!! I used miso soup base, because I couldn't find miso paste and I used fresh salmon. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. They had a great flavor and texture and the sauce was fabulous. These were better than any crab/fish cakes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I love crab cakes and was a bit apprehensive about using salmon and cilantro in this recipe. I didn't have any soy sauce on hand but I did have fish sauce (don't ask). The cakes along with the sauce were worthy of a fine Asian restaurant, baked or fried. I'll definitely add this dish to my reperatoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Very easy to make and was a bit hit at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States