Asian Salmon Cakes with Creamy Miso and Sake Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
This recipe was great! My two year old even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Great recipe! Nice variation on basic salmon patties. Did some tweaking because it did seem like proportions were out. Here are my changes: Sauce-doubled garlic to 4 cloves -doubled green onion to 2 stems -halved lime juice to 2 T. -added 2tsp. wasabi powder Patties-halved bread crumbs to 3/4 c. -used 1 lb. leftover salmon (fresh not canned, cooked) -finely mince onions -form into patties and refrigerate at least 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
These salmon cakes had way too much bread crumbs. I didn't taste any salmon. The sauce was okay but overall probably a waste of sake and miso paste. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
These were wonderful!!! I used miso soup base, because I couldn't find miso paste and I used fresh salmon. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. They had a great flavor and texture and the sauce was fabulous. These were better than any crab/fish cakes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I love crab cakes and was a bit apprehensive about using salmon and cilantro in this recipe. I didn't have any soy sauce on hand but I did have fish sauce (don't ask). The cakes along with the sauce were worthy of a fine Asian restaurant, baked or fried. I'll definitely add this dish to my reperatoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Not only did these cakes crumble, even when I tripled the amount of liquid binder, but they were mostly breadcrumbs with very little salmon. I'm the kind of person who actually wants to taste the crab in crabcakes, not the "filler". The sauce was really overpowering, not that tasty and a waste of sake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Very easy to make and was a bit hit at the party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe (and it was a hit with my 1 yr old, too, and "okay" with my 7 year old and 36 year old). I made quite a few modifications, because I made it impromptu. For the sauce, I did not have miso or sake. I added rice wine vinegar instead of the sake (not quite 1/4 cup) and extra lime. I think that the cakes are good on their own--better without the sauce--or maybe just a little lime/butter sauce would be good. I amended the cakes as well, since the proportion seemed off. I used a whole can of salmon (14 oz), and less bread crumbs--maybe 1 cup max? I had to use 2 eggs to get them moist enough. I added a bit of lime juice as well. My 7 year old complained that there were too many onions, so I'd chop them more finely next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Easy to prepare and quite delicious. The sauce seems flexible enough to use with chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Nagaoka, Niigata, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Love this staple at our house! remember that canned salmon is DRY and you can cut WAY back on the bread crumbs! Here in Canada, we get a lot of great fresh & moist salmon so the bread crumbs keep it all together. (The salmon will stay moist if you dont overcook it when your using BBQ leftovers!) Kinda of like meatballs, use your hands and eyes to tell how much bread crumbs is enough! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNNY OH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States