Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I have made this recipe twice, and the first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made a couple of huge mistakes that actually turned out to be okay. Therefore, I would claim this is a pretty foolproof recipe that you can't go wrong with! The second time I made it, I mistakenly melted the 1/2 c. butter in with the the rest of the dressing ingredients instead of using it to toast all the crunchy stuff. Side note: all of the crunchy ingredients really only need to be browned in about a Tbsp of butter...1/2 c. is not necessary. I also added too much sugar into the dressing...I put about 3/4 of a c. instead of a 1/2 cup. Everything was still very good and delicious though. This time around I was too lazy to chop green onions up for it, and everything was still fine. We didn't miss the green onions whatsoever. I would highly recommend using the prepackaged coleslaw mix for this, I used that the first time I made it. This time around my grocery store was out of it, so instead I just finely chopped up a head of cabbage. I also only buy one package of the blanched silvered almonds (I try to cut corners on grocery bills where I can), which equaled about a 1/2 c. and I felt that was enough. I highly recommend this recipe because it's a nice, light, crunchy, different salad that complements most Asian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
It was just ok. I've had better versions of this type of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! My salad turned out perfect on the first try. :) I made the following changes: -- substituted extra virgin olive oil in place of the vegetable oil -- substituted spring mix in place of the napa cabbage -- added 1 cup of strawberries, halved -- added 1 cup of mandarin orange wedges Will DEFINITELY be making this dish again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dawson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is wonderful! I substituted the sesame seeds with about 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds, but otherwise, the recipe is great as is! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Most Excellent! I added 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, browned and coarsly chopped, and 1 can drained and sliced water chestnuts. I made this for my friend's retirement party, and it was a big hit. Very tasty with lots of character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This salad is a real winner when I make it. I usually have to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie1010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Pretty good but would prefer more flavor...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eViE nOeL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
big hit everywhere I bring it. i add cashews along with along slivers and chop romaine and toss in a bag of "broccoli" slaw to add more crunch and some orange color. it's a one day recipes because it gets too soggy, and bring along a few copies of the recipe b/c people will def. ask for it! great summer salad and i'm making it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
My family loves this recipe. My daughter makes it with romaine and loves it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
It was alright. I cut down the soy sauce as reccomended but still found it to be a little overpowering in the dressing, good with the first few bites, but afterwards it was too salty. I replaced the veggie oil with olive oil, and cut out the butter and sugar. That's probably why the salt was overpowering. I used spinach instead of napa cabbage, if you plan on eating this for leftovers, add the spinach when you serve the salad, otherwise it gets soggy. I also added mandarin oranges, which turned out to be my favorite part of the recipe. The idea to put the seasoning into the dressing was gold! But too many ramen noodles for the amount of salad. Meh. maybe i'll try the original recipe sometime in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States