Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I give this 5 stars because it is always a crowd favorite and I am usually asked for the recipe. BUT I make a couple changes worth sharing. First, I use baby spinach with either red cabbage or shredded broccoli mix added. Second, I buy the oriental raman noodles because I add the seasoning flavor packet (to taste about 1/3) to the dressing after it is cooled. Thanks Juanita, it is what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
great with little mandarin oranges too! amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Tastes yummy. I used Broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. It was quicker and a bit more flavor. Next time, I wouldn't use an entire stick of butter. It wasn't necessary and a bit greasy. Also, I'd throw in 3/4 of the dressing, instead of all. But, I definitely will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
4 stars for the dressing, which is what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was really yummy, but it looks ugly. It does not hold up well so don't make it for company unless you are going to serve it within 20 minutes. The only reason I gave it 4 not 5 stars was the appearance factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I have made this recipe twice, and the first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time I made a couple of huge mistakes that actually turned out to be okay. Therefore, I would claim this is a pretty foolproof recipe that you can't go wrong with! The second time I made it, I mistakenly melted the 1/2 c. butter in with the the rest of the dressing ingredients instead of using it to toast all the crunchy stuff. Side note: all of the crunchy ingredients really only need to be browned in about a Tbsp of butter...1/2 c. is not necessary. I also added too much sugar into the dressing...I put about 3/4 of a c. instead of a 1/2 cup. Everything was still very good and delicious though. This time around I was too lazy to chop green onions up for it, and everything was still fine. We didn't miss the green onions whatsoever. I would highly recommend using the prepackaged coleslaw mix for this, I used that the first time I made it. This time around my grocery store was out of it, so instead I just finely chopped up a head of cabbage. I also only buy one package of the blanched silvered almonds (I try to cut corners on grocery bills where I can), which equaled about a 1/2 c. and I felt that was enough. I highly recommend this recipe because it's a nice, light, crunchy, different salad that complements most Asian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
It was just ok. I've had better versions of this type of salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! My salad turned out perfect on the first try. :) I made the following changes: -- substituted extra virgin olive oil in place of the vegetable oil -- substituted spring mix in place of the napa cabbage -- added 1 cup of strawberries, halved -- added 1 cup of mandarin orange wedges Will DEFINITELY be making this dish again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dawson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This is wonderful! I substituted the sesame seeds with about 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds, but otherwise, the recipe is great as is! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Most Excellent! I added 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, browned and coarsly chopped, and 1 can drained and sliced water chestnuts. I made this for my friend's retirement party, and it was a big hit. Very tasty with lots of character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States