Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Made this last night it was great! But I thought the dressing was weak so I dumped it out and used 1/2 cup balsamic vinaigrette with 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. I also cooked up some chicken chunks waited till they cooled off and added it in. I will make this again both my husband and teenage boys ate every bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
yum! made exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I loved this recipe! I topped it with mandarin oranges (at my boyfriend's suggestion) and it was delicious! Altered the original slightly because I did not have the other ingredients on hand- used balsamic vinaigrette instead of white vinegar; sugar in the raw instead of white sugar; pumpkin seeds instead of almonds; peanut oil instead of veggie oil. I toasted the pumpkin seeds, ramen and sesame seeds in the oven without butter. Added a bit of sesame seed oil to the sauce. Pan fried chicken chunks with sesame seed oil and seeds and tossed it all together. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
As others have stated, this is an excellent base. I think I will be adding chicken breast next time to make it more of a meal. Definitely will be cutting down on the oil... maybe half, and will try toasting the noodles rather than browning in butter. Added sesame oil which really gives it a great and unique flavor. Also added celery and extra package of ramen noodles ('cause I love them!) and think it would be excellent with snow peas too. Will make again for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Good idea, but as someone who is opting for healthier options i tweaked it a lot, therefore I can only give it 3 stars. I also would recommend not using butter at all..it doesn't make any sense what with all the fat in sesame seeds and almonds. i used the following - dressing: 1/4 C oil, 3 T vin, 3 T sugar (boil) & add 2 T soy sauce Salad: 1/2 box wheat spaghetti (pre-boiled), 1/2 C roasted almonds & 2 tsp roasted sesame seeds (mix). 3-4 C spring mix and 1 bunch chopped green onions, shredded carrots, and/or other shredded vegetables on hand to mix. Toss to Coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Am I the only one who gets annoyed when people completely change the recipe so it bears no resemblance to the original and then give it a low star rating? Like someone substituting spinach for the napa cabbage...seriously, that is not even an Asian salad any more. sheesh. Change it all you want, but don't then come along and rate the original recipe poorly just because your changes don't work out. Thanks for letting me get that off my chest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
SOOO delicious! I can't wait to make this again. I used the bagged cole slaw mix, and it turned out well. I toasted the Ramen in the oven. When making for just a few people, I will not mix in the Ramen until just before serving. Otherwise, the noodles get really soggy if you want to have the salad the next day as leftovers. I will mix up the dry ingredients just prior to eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
OMG, we loved this! I have never tried this particular recipe for Asian salad before and I liked my old one, but this one is the bomb. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
SO! It's cabbage night over here at the house! The next time, I may toss some pieces of sliced chicken breasts, or bake some on the side. Mandarin oranges may be interesting as well. Thanks, cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceSpiceBaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
With the modifications suggested by a couple other reviewers, namely reducing the sugar, oil, and vinegar, this recipe is absolutely delicious and very quick to make. My family has made it a couple times now and we always enjoy it for a few days because it makes so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States