Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
My family LOVES this recipe. I always throw in some mandarin oranges to make it a little sweeter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Excellent! I didn't have cabbage so I just used a bagged garden salad mix instead and that worked out perfectly. I microwaved the oil/sugar mixture for 1 1/2 minutes and allowed it to cool fully before adding the soy sauce and it thickened and emulsified perfectly using only a spoon to stir. For the noodle/almond/sesame seed topping, I did cut back on the butter, used about half, and it was outstanding. I didn't think that I would care for the sesame seeds much but decided to add them anyway as stated and found that they impart a wonderful rich nuttiness to the overall flavor. This topping would be great on other salads as well. Also, I added frozen grilled chicken strips (cooked in the microwave of course) to the salad to make it a meal. The whole family loved it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
LOVED IT! No leftovers at my house. Took it to my family's house for dinner and everyone asked for the recipe. Can't go wrong with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pukalani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was a hit at our Labor Day party. I have only two suggestions: 1. Use 1/2 the amount of butter called for. 2. Add shredded carrots. The carrots made the salad more appealing to the eye and gave it a more complex flavor. This is a great picnic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crandall, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Awesome! However, 1/2 of butter to cook the ramen noodles and almonds in is way toooo much -- Pam cooking spray will do the trick and cut the fat and calories. I used broccoli/cabbage mix instead of bok choy -- this was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Great! Just the recipe I was looking for. I used Pam instead of butter and a 16 oz. bag of coleslaw in place of the shredded cabbage. It made things a lot easier and less fattening without really altering the basic recipe. I can't wait to try this one out on others. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I have made this before but this recipe is so good! I just added shredded carrots which gave extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is SOOO good. Both my kids will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I loved the flavor of this. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
This was great.. I also did not use the butter for browning the noodles/almonds/sesame seeds. I just put spray PAM into the pan w/about 1 tsp of sesame seed oil and browned over low heat. Once browned, I put one packet of the Ramen seasoning into the noodle/almond/sesame seed mixture. I also eliminated the 3/4 cup vegetable oil and reduced to 1/4 c olive oil with about a TBS of sesame oil. It turned out really great. I ended up using one full bag of slaw mixture and a half head of Napa cabbage..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grand Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States