Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
My favorite salad ever. I didn't even know I liked cabbage. I followed the directions this time and loved it. Next time I will use half of the butter (you can ommit it, but I just love the butter flavor). I will also use a little less oil in the dressing. If your nappa cabbage isn't very large this recipe will make too much dressing. I will also seperate the 3 sections for left overs. It was seriously so good and so easy. ALSO- if you have a food processor use that because I really like the small shreads of the cabbage. If you are just using a knife- chop cabbage into small shreads. This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
LOVE this recipe! I make it over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is a good start to an asian salad recipe. You can play with it to make it to your liking. I definitely agree with those that say serve the dressing on the side. I used chili/sesame oil instead of vegetable oil, gave the dressing a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This is a great place to start. I'm sure it's great as-is, but I tried to make it a little healthier by following the advice of others and it turned out really well. My husband loved it. Changes: used EVOO for oil and reduced to 1/4 c; used rice vinegar; used Splenda and reduced to 3 tbs. Was still too sweet so I added a little fresh ginger and some chili garlic sauce for kick; used low-sodium soy sauce. Added shredded carrots, sliced snow peas and a handful of chopped cilantro to the slaw mix; tossed the crunchies with a little sesame & chili oils and baked for a few minutes. Also only tossed enough for dinner and stored the 3 components separately to avoid sogginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This recipe is a great start. I am doing weight watchers and tried to use minimal oil and butter. I think the flavor was great with just a few tablespoons of olive oil. Also added mandarin oranges in their juice to cut back on the sugar. I used chicken ramen noodles and the seasoning packets. It was better using nappa cabbage, added snap peas and slivered carrots to get even more veggies. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is the best salad recipe ever! So easy to make and wonderful flavor! I added shredded carrots for color and added another veggie too. Also used olive oil, used 3 packages of Ramen Noodles and about 3-4 tablespoons of sesame seeds. What flavor it gave to toast the noodles, seeds and almonds. I will make this recipe over and over. Will rty to add some breaded chicken to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good! I cut back on the oil and butter as others have done. I read the leftovers were not great and I only have my son and I to feed. So problem solved: I just keep the dressing and cooked crunchies (seperate) in the fridge and make up a small amount when we want some. If you have only tried the pre-packaged cabbage -you MUST try the real thing Napa cabbage is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bailey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I love making this salad to take to parties, etc. I have also made it with some store-bought chicken tenders and cut them up to make family meal on the go. It is GREAT for swim meets or when you need "cooler food" to go! I also add sunflower seeds and use olive oil instead of butter and sunflower oil instead of the veg oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Yum! I have tried other versions of asian salads and this one is the best. I think toasting the noodles, sesame seeds and almonds is the difference. I used two bags of coleslaw mix and added the packet of seasoning to the dressing.. Perfect !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was a yummy salad. I used the canned noodles and added pineapple. I used the dressing as a marinade for grilled chicken which went on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States