Asian Rainbow Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe was really great! I usually love sesame oil and would have substituted it except I'm currently pregnant and can't even stand the smell of sesame. So I stuck with the olive oil and this still came out excellent. My Chinese husband also loved it. I mixed all the ingredients (except fish) together to make a sauce and cooked the fillets in tinfoil packets with a little sauce on each one in the oven at 425*F for 12 minutes and it came out perfectly. Very good, will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Loved this recipe! Had a wonderful flavor - used the recipe just as is. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Let me start by saying, my husband gave this at least a 6! Today was 'opening fishing' day, so my husb. & sons along w/ 3 next door neighbors went bright and early. I was ready w/ fry pan in hand. Normally I make Trout Amandine, so they were a bit skeptical. I mixed olive oil & some sesame. My husband won't stop gushing, and the other guys loved it too! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by incurable

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Yummy, enjoyed this one! Used one piece of rainbow trout (12-13 ounces) and since I was planning on baking this in the oven, I mixed all of the ingredients together to marinade over the trout (did use brown sugar instead of white and sesame oil instead of olive). Left for about 4 hours and then baked at 350 for 25 mins. Lots of flavour, the change to sesame oil is a must as it complements the other ingredients so nicely and I feel the brown sugar does too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This recipes is really good. Even my husband who is not a fish eater loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Substituted olive oil with sesame oil like was suggested by another reviewer. This really made this dish tasty and very Asian-like. The blend of the seasonings/ingredients worked well together. My family loved it and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Because of what I had on hand I used three small, fresh-out-the-stream whole Idaho rainbow trout, veggie oil and dry ground ginger (boo-hiss, I know). I think I burned it a little, but this was still fantastic served with steamed rice and steamed veggies. My skeptical non-fish eating husband loved it. I shall try fresh ginger and seseme oil (and a lower heat!) next time. With all the fishing to be done where I live this may become a staple in our home. Thank you for sharing this recipe; it was lovely! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This was excellent.. i used sesame oil instead of olive oil as suggested by some reviews... i also didnt have soy sauce because i ran out and used worchestshire sauce instead... i baked it in the toaster oven at 450 for 12 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
O Canada! Great recipe Kerry, and one that I'll use again and again. It was fast to make and yummy. I substituted brown for white sugar and used the sesame oil (super suggestion). I also took the advice of Mrs Li and put the mixed ingredients over the fish, and baked in aluminum foil packets (I made 4) - at 425 degrees for 16 minutes (my fish might have been thicker). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I also used sesame instead of olive oil. Next time I'll fry extra onion/garlic/ginger, as it goes great on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States