Asian Rainbow Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe was really great! I usually love sesame oil and would have substituted it except I'm currently pregnant and can't even stand the smell of sesame. So I stuck with the olive oil and this still came out excellent. My Chinese husband also loved it. I mixed all the ingredients (except fish) together to make a sauce and cooked the fillets in tinfoil packets with a little sauce on each one in the oven at 425*F for 12 minutes and it came out perfectly. Very good, will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Yummy, enjoyed this one! Used one piece of rainbow trout (12-13 ounces) and since I was planning on baking this in the oven, I mixed all of the ingredients together to marinade over the trout (did use brown sugar instead of white and sesame oil instead of olive). Left for about 4 hours and then baked at 350 for 25 mins. Lots of flavour, the change to sesame oil is a must as it complements the other ingredients so nicely and I feel the brown sugar does too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
basically okay, but olive oil does not really go well with asian dishes. try using either sesame oil or peanut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
5* with adaptions from other reviews. I've tried grilling & baking a 1 lb. whole filet, wrapped in foil. The foil method was more moist & flavourful. First time, I followed the recipe except used sesame oil instead of olive oil & found it needed more flavour. Second time, it was amazing with these changes: Put large piece of wide, heavy-duty foil over cookie sheet. Place fish on foil & pat dry with paper towel. Increase soy sauce to 1 tablespoon & rub all over. Season top with salt, fresh cracked black pepper & brown sugar, instead of white. Seal foil loosely so it doesn't touch top of fish & marinade up to 2 hours, in fridge. Use sesame oil instead of olive oil & increase garlic & ginger to 1 + 1/8 teaspoons each. Tip: Freeze ginger to grate as needed. Saute onions & ginger first & add garlic last 3 minutes, to prevent burning. Spoon saute mixture on top of fish, loosely re-seal & bake at 425 for 12 minutes. To test if done, stick fork in top of fish & turn. If it flakes easily, it's done. If it's firm & feels like it needs a knife to cut through it, bake 2 more minutes. Let fish rest 5 minutes before unwrapping & removing skin. Thanks Kerri for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Substituted olive oil with sesame oil like was suggested by another reviewer. This really made this dish tasty and very Asian-like. The blend of the seasonings/ingredients worked well together. My family loved it and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Richard Nongard
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Did this with sesame oil because it made much more sense than olive oil for an Asian dish. My wife is from Asia and LOVED it, as did my 14 year old son. Other than the oil I made no changes- other than I left the skin on .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Nongard

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
my son loved this. i used pure sesame oil and the brown sugar...yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This recipes is really good. Even my husband who is not a fish eater loved it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Great recipe. The flavors perfectly balanced the fish but were not overpowering. I also took the suggestion of using sesame oil over olive oil and it really complimented the other asian flavors well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was sooo delicious! My husband loved it and told me I'd better make this again! LOL. The only things I did differently were to cook the fillets in foil packets as another reviewer suggested, and since I didn't have green onions, I sprinkled finely chopped white onion on top the fillets after I spooned the sauce over it, and added a dash of freeze dried chives for color. Then I remembered some cashews I had in the cabinet, and I threw a handful of those on top, wrapped the fish in the packets and baked them for 12 minutes at 425 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States