Asian Rainbow Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe is very good, however, I did make some changes. First I rubbed the fillets with Sesame Oil and placed it on a sheet of foil. I then mixed soy sauce, a little more sesame oil, minced garlic, some brown sugar, and sesame seeds and mixed poured over fish. Let sit a few minutes and baked 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I love this light delicious trout. I didn't have any green onions and substituted yellow. My kids would not eat it and that is why it only got 4 stars. I grew up eating the cornmeal deep fried version. I loved that as a child because it was the only time my mother would make macaroni and cheese. I think this is way better than my mother's. I served it with rice and broccoli and I will make it again if my kids have already eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
The store didn't have trout so I got sole instead. I used brown sugar and a dash red pepper in the soy sauce mixture. I also bumped up the soy sauce amount to a whole tablespoon instead of 2 teaspoons, what's one more teaspoon? Sole is a very delicate fish and cooked in this recipe, it just melted in our months. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I substituted sesame oil and brown sugar as other reviewers suggested and it was to die for. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
my son loved this. i used pure sesame oil and the brown sugar...yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
My entire family loved this recipe! The flavors blend together beautifully - we added a little extra garlic and ginger, but that was just our preference - and it wasn't the least bit fishy. This is a great way to fix fresh rainbow trout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Quite tasty. I used toasted sesame oil in place of olive oil and brown sugar instead of white as many reviewers have done. I sauteed the trout until it had a nice caramelized crust, and it was perfectly cooked inside. We enjoyed very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I followed another review on here and substituted sesame oil. It's very fragrant and add's a lot to this dish. Following the same review I baked this wrapped in foil. This recipe also works very nicely on tilapia. Serve this with white rice. Yum. Just like the asian restaurants I order fish at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Really good. I used splenda instead of sugar, and baked it in a stone, so the juice got a little runny, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I took the tips of others and used brown sugar and sesame oil. The weather was great so we grilled the trout outside. What a success! The flavors are well balanced. My only suggestion would be to make 1 1/2 times the recipe. Served with Fresh Peach Salsa from this site, using mango instead of peaches and adding some fresh pineapple and a few strawberries. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States