Asian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
This potato salad is awesome! At first glance it doesn't seem like the combination of ingredients would work, but they actually work beautifully. The bok choy and peppers add crunch, and the soy sauce adds just the right amount of saltiness. I used maple cured bacon which is a little less salty then regular smoked bacon, and it turned out great! I'm a cilantro lover, so I added cilantro according to the recipe however I think that those who don't care for the strong flavor of cilantro could easily substitute parsley and not miss a beat. This is a great recipe and I will be making it again and again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
HI, I am the submitter of this recipe and just want to clarify the amount of potatoe to be used. If the potatoes are quite large than 6 should be enough, of course if they are smaller than use 6-10. Use your judgement. Thank you for all your comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I can't stop eating this stuff! I omitted the cilantro - mine has been in the fridge for a week, and was looking pretty sorry - and I'm actually glad I did. The flavors work SO well. I'll definitely be making this again! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I can't believe I forgot to rate this recipe! So first, let me state I am sad that I forgot to buy bok choy because I love bok choy. This recipe melded all the ingredients perfectly. You have the traditional asian ingredients, soy sauce, sesame oil, and green onion which really liven up the traditional old potato salad. The bacon adds a nice crunchy texture, the cilantro adds the cool crispiness, and the sugar mellows out the saltiness nicely. The only thing I did differently was to had less mayo. Absolutely try this recipe, you will not regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really unique flavor, and just what I was looking for. I'd also never worked with bok choy before, so I really enjoyed this recipe, not only for its lovely flavors, but for introducing a new ingredient in to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
We weren't sure what to do with the bok choi in our CSA box but we were determined to find a better option than letting it go bad in the fridge as in past years. This recipe made great use of the choi as well as the green onions, and cilantro also in the box, and my girls LOVE potato salad so this seemed like a good recipe to try. The only change that I made was to skip the dry hot mustard because I don't have any. Nevertheless, it was a big hit with the whole family. The Asian flavors are really clear and it is such a fun and different approach to potato salad than the norm. I just made a double batch again today to bring to a neighborhood potluck and hope that it is widely enjoyed. I know we'll be making it again as a family in any case. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Enjoyable for something different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Awesome job with them taters there! And I'm a life-long non-potato eater, but when I saw this one, something in my brain made a 'ding' noise and I had to try it. I love all the ingredients, but my cilantro was in an even sorrier state (2 weeks in fridge) and was only able to use a scant amount of what was salvagable. My bacon was on it's way out too, so I doubled up on the bok choy and onions and omitted the salt since the soy sauce was included. Nice and spicy and definitely something I'll make for company or wherever I'm invited that says 'bring dish'. It'll be brought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This turned out much better than expected. Delicious with Asian Tuna Patties and some pineapple chutney. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Awesome. We all love this. It's a do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States