Asian Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
It's delicious. I didn't change any ingredients. However, I highly recommend roasting it at 325F for 80-90mins. This will make it incredibly tender! It literally melted in my mouth. If you're concerned about too much salt, I would reduce the amount of chili paste and/or soy sauce. You MUST use light soy sauce, otherwise the regular soy sauce is too salty. Another way to modify the saltiness is to keep the salt content but increase the brown sugar content. At the end of roasting, the marinade was greatly reduced. You can put the marinade in a pan on the stovetop, whisk in some flour or corn starch, add hydrated mushrooms (I use shiitake but buttons or creminis would work too) to make a gravy. Absolutely delicious!!! Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mingmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Fantastic marinade. I used 1/4 soy sauce and also cooked it longer at lower temp to be more tender per other reviewers. Fresh chopped ginger puts this great marinate over the top! I bought some of those cheap ramen noodle packages and used the noodles in them stir fried with boy choy, mushrooms and celery tossed with some peanut oil, chicken broth, and a bit of the marinade sauce. Was SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
Very tender and delicious. I added fresh ginger and cut down slightly on the sesame oil (as others suggested). I also did not have chili paste on hand so I used Asian chili sauce instead. Still quite spicy. The marinade smelled wonderful. I baked at 400 degrees instead of 450 and the marinade didn't burn in the pan at all. I will definitely make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Absolutely sensational. This is the best pork dish I have ever tried. I made it almost exactly as written, although I marinated it for 20 hours. Unlike some other writers, I think that the sesame oil and Asian chili sauce are absolutely essential. For the chili sauce, I used Guilin Chili Sauce by Lee Kum Lee, which you can buy at an Asian grocery. It's as authentic as the sauces that I used while living in China. I am puzzled, however, over the 25-30 minute cooking time for a 2lb. pork roast. After 30 minutes, the pork was only at 120 degrees. Even at the recommended 450, it took far longer to get it close to 160. I wanted it barely done, because I dislike well done pork; 50 minutes did the job. I covered the pork for the first 15-20 minutes and left it uncovered for the remainder of the time.; Next time, I'll add grated ginger, although it was delicious without it. Another nice addition is a sauce that in Japan is known simply as "Sauce." The closest that I have found here is Bull-Dog Vegetable and Fruit Sauce (semi-sweet), also available at Asian grocery stores. It's a good Worcestershire sauce substitute (I used some of this sauce in place of part of the Worcestershire).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
A recipe with great potentials. The flavors were great but I think next time I'll bake it at a very low temperature for at least 2 hours so the meat can be tender. At 450F for 30min, although the internal temp registered high enough, the meat was not soft enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent! My husband and I really enjoyed this. I enjoyed how easy it was. I didn't want to buy Chili Paste since I don't like spicy and wasn't sure how spicy it would be so I used some Chili Powder instead about 1 teaspoon. I also started late on marinating so it marinated for 6 hours and I used both tenderloins and marinated in a resealable bag. It was plenty of marinade. I did use the leftover marinade, heated it up on the stove and added about a 1/2 T cornstarch to thicken it. I noticed a few reviews mentioned how the marinade burned on the foiled pan, I don't know if you poured all the marinade onto the pork on the pan, I just took the pork out and put on a lined foiled pan sprayed with cooking spray. This worked out fine, the pork didn't stick and the cleanup was easy since I tossed the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I halved the sesame oil and added some fresh ginger as well. I tried it with tenderloin at 350F for about 50min and it came out very juicy. I did a loin at 400 for 1hr30min and that worked well too. I doubled the chile paste and it still had a great balance between the sweet and spicy. I am thinking of trying out a squeeze or two of lime juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Wow, this sure was good. My husband kept saying how much he was enjoying it as he was eating. I marinated the meat for about 12 hours and reduced the sesame oil to a tablespoon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Oh Boy, Oh Boy, Oh Boy!!! As another reviewer said "Onlicious" indeed. This is a 10!!! Didn't change a thing with the marinade and I won't in the future. Perfect!!! I used bonless pork chops and then broiled them. If you sprinkle the chops with paprika you will get that charred BBQ look and taste! The next time I will make rice with it and use that marinade as a sauce since we do like HOT. As another reviewer said - the chops do not get overly spicey - just simply delicious and moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very flavorful and easy dish. I adjusted the ingredients based on the reviews I read and to suit our taste. I mixed the 1/3 cup with half soy and half worcerstershire sauce to cut down on saltiness. I use 1/8 cup sesame oil and 1/8 cup vegetable oil. I added 2 tsps of fresh ginger & used Sriracha chili sauce since I couldn't find the paste. It definitely kicked it up with some heat. I saved the marinade in the refrigerator while the pork cooked and when ready brought it to a rolling boil on the stove for 2-3 minutes to kill any bacteria and drizzled over the pork. I cooked at 350 until done so the pork would be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

See how to make quick pork tenderloin in a spicy cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States