Asian Pasta Salad with Beef, Broccoli and Bean Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I give this a 5* but not for the reasons you might think! Please read on. The salad turned out nice. Since my diet really limited the content it wasnt much more than a basic pasta salad with green onions, cilantro and I added some cubed cheddar. I made the dressing with reduced sodium soy and held the pepper flakes and mayo, however, after tasting it I decided to add the mayo, thankfully, it made a great difference for me and I enjoyed it a lot. So here's the kicker and I cant believe the results: I used the basic dressing sans mayo and increased to ½ C reduced sodium soya (I even took a walk on the wild side and used the pepper flakes!) as a marinade for the pork! Fabulous! I loved it, I loved it, I loved it! I will try this again with chicken in the salad or as a marinade! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
We absolutely loved this dish. As with everything in life, you make changes to suit your own personal tastes, but this one is a basic 5 star recipe. To the dressing, I added an extra clove of garlic, a bit of Orange Zest, Sesame Seeds and dried Celery Flakes. I also used 1/2 tsp. cayenne, as opposed to the 3/4 tsp. chili pepper flakes and omitted the mayo. For the salad, I used 8 oz. pasta with more of the veggies, 1/2 lb. roast beef and all of the dressing. I thought it was perfect that way, and actually would have been lacking in the dressing dept. otherwise. It was delicious at dinnertime, and it was even better at 2am, when I pulled a refrigerator raid. I think next time I make this, I will actually mix it up ahead of time, and give the flavors a chance to blend. Delicious dressing... a keeper in my book! Oh, we also used a blend of Honey Roasted Peanuts and Cashews, which was kind of nice. Thank you, Pam Anderson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I have to agree with Tuni. I thought that this was a great change from usual pasta salad. I added extra vinegar to the dressing, used honey instead of sugar, I didn't have crushed red pepper flake so I added some Asian Essence. I put the dressing in a shaker to mix it. For the salad I used rotini and probably only half a box. I didn't have peanuts so I used some sunflower seeds, and I cooked the broccoli a bit with the pasta, and added some fresh peas that I had in the fridge. Next time I will take Tuni's suggestion and use some Oj in the dressing and maybe even add some mandarins to the salad. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
While I agree with the other reviewers on the fact that it is a very good salad, it still needs a few adjustments to make it to my 5* book. First of all, I used rice noodles. I hate it when an Asian-inspired recipe calls for Italian pasta! I reduced the pasta to 1/2 lb but I kept the same amount of everything else. Next time I'll probably omit the peanuts because i couldn't taste them anyway. I'll skip the carrots too, just because I don't care for them. All in all, however, it made a very enjoyable dinner. Thanks for posting, Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I halved this recipe and it still made quite alot. This is a really great salad. Next time I'll omit the deli beef because the flavor got lost anyway in the process and just use this as a side dish. I love sesame oil but although it was not too overpowering, next time will decrease it by 1/2 tsp. Added toasted sesame seeds, blanched the broccoli, used flat fettucine noodles so it appeared more 'Asian', and added a bit of wasabi mustard and orange juice/zest to the dressing. Emulsified dressing in the food processor. I loved the textures in here. Next time will cut down on the carbs, and up the bean sprouts. Beautiful colors and textures, as well as great asian flavors make this a great salad to serve along side a grilled steak. This is a meal in itself and a nice summer meal at that. I am a garlic lover so upped the garlic. Will also use more green onion next time, just out of personal preference. Very nice recipe and a nice change of pace from the regular pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious dressing without the mayo! The only change I made: I chopped some chicken breast and marinated it in some soy sauce, sesame oil and some garlic and then sauteed it. I used this instead of the beef. I also used ramen noodles- way more delicious than just penne pasta! Delicious recipe- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
My husband and I LOVED this one. The spices are the perfect mix. The dressing is what makes it - you can really throw in any vegetables and make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
my husband and my nine year old son and sixteen year old daughter could not stop eating this! SO good! I omitted the quarter cup vegetable oil, it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Yummy and more healthy with a few changes: *whole wheat pasta **instead of roast beef I loved using beef bacon from Trader Joes - chopped into bits** *skip mayo and vegetable oil *blanch carrot chunks too *use real ginger - more than 1 tsp *no need to chop peanuts *more cilantro than what was called for *whole bag pre cut broccoli and about half a bag of baby carrots chopped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States