Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Great taste, very easy. Exactly what I was hoping it would be! I added fresh chopped peppers and carrots and cooked in the sauce too. I've been looking for a recipe like this forever and now I have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This recipe has a wonderful flavour. I added a lot more orange zest because I was craving a good orange taste and I also added a few drops of sesame oil as per another reviewers suggestion. As for the cornstarch problem that everyone had been complaining about, a quick glance at the amount of sauce in the pot told me that the cornstarch measurement was WAY off. I only used about 2 teaspoons with a bit of water and the thickness of the sauce was perfect. I also added broccoli which really picked up the orange taste...delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I made the orange chicken tonight and boy was it a hit. I was nervous so I followed the reciped exactly (except the green onions) it came out perfectly. I will DEFINITELY be making it again. The only thing I would advise other people about is, before I reheated the remaining sauce I strained the bits of ginger out of it. It was great. Thanks for such a great recipe. It's definitley one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Being a vegetarian I substitued Quorn for the chicken, otherwise followed the recipe. It was great! My husband, who is a picky eater especially when it comes to homemade Asian foods, loved this recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
just a little note. You must make sure to mix the water and cornstarch together thoroughly before adding it to the sauce. If you still find the sauce to be starchy, next time you try it, you can leave 1 tbs of oil in the pan after frying the chicken and add the cornstarch to that and cook stirring frequently for ~5 minutes before adding the rest of the sauce...it will have the same thickening effect. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Cloverdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This was the recipe that I've been looking for for years. I like to follow a new recipe to the letter so that I can review it honestly, but I did take into consideration the cornstarch issue of many other reviewers, so I added my cornstarch slurry slowly to the sauce til it was the right consistancy. Flavors were superb, just like our local chinese restaurant. Will be making this again, often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This was GREAT!!! My family loved it. The ONLY thing I would do differently is not use as much cornstarch, as it was a little gummy. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I swear, it tasted just like the resturant, and I didn't even marinate it for the full 2 hours. Would and will make again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
The recipe was great, but I left out some steps in the interest of time. Instead of marinating the chicken first I just cut, breaded, and cooked it. I then added it to the sauce and let it all simmer for the 20 minutes it took to cook a pan of rice. It still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Awesome! Just like fast food (in a good way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States