Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Generally this recipe is pretty tasty and relatively easy. The issue that I had was with the amount of starch. 3 tablespoon is way too much. When I followed the recipe it all clogged up so I was able to pour in only a fraction of the 3 TBLS and the sauce became very thick even with that small amount. Also next time I will not panfry the chicken but place it in as is in order to save the calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This does taste restaurant quality. Unless you fry the coated chicken in the oil to get it really crispy, it stays soggy. It tastes good without coating the chicken. It is neither orange or citrus enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
The recipe was great, but I left out some steps in the interest of time. Instead of marinating the chicken first I just cut, breaded, and cooked it. I then added it to the sauce and let it all simmer for the 20 minutes it took to cook a pan of rice. It still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I made the orange chicken tonight and boy was it a hit. I was nervous so I followed the reciped exactly (except the green onions) it came out perfectly. I will DEFINITELY be making it again. The only thing I would advise other people about is, before I reheated the remaining sauce I strained the bits of ginger out of it. It was great. Thanks for such a great recipe. It's definitley one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
This recipe had great flovor BUT the after taste was to starchy. It would have been fantastic without all the cornstarch. I will make it again only revise the ingredients...a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Being a vegetarian I substitued Quorn for the chicken, otherwise followed the recipe. It was great! My husband, who is a picky eater especially when it comes to homemade Asian foods, loved this recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was okay, it may sound silly but it had too much of an orange flavor, it overpowered the rest of the sauce. I am giving it 3 stars because the base of the sauce is wonderful, I think I will experiment with it & leave out the orange next time, I like more of a sweet/spicy sauce. Also I agree with the cornstarch, as soon as I added it, it clumped up into little "dumplings". Overall okay, but my hubby didn't care for it at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I put in more like 2 cups freshly-squeezed orange juice. Cut to 1 tbsp cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
just a little note. You must make sure to mix the water and cornstarch together thoroughly before adding it to the sauce. If you still find the sauce to be starchy, next time you try it, you can leave 1 tbs of oil in the pan after frying the chicken and add the cornstarch to that and cook stirring frequently for ~5 minutes before adding the rest of the sauce...it will have the same thickening effect. Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Cloverdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I couldn't decide if I should give this 3 or 4 but decided on 4 because the flavor is quite good and I might try it again with some modifications. Mine turned out quite starchy and soggy too; next time I'll follow some of the suggestions of other reviewers. Overall pretty good, though, and does taste a lot like orange chicken at that mall restuarant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States