Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
VERY citrus-y. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
It was delicious, people were going back for seconds and there was NOTHING left! I did make a change after reading a few reviews; instead of using a cup and a half of water I substituted 1/2 cup water for juice, added 1 cup chopped blanched carrots and completely omitted the breading process, instead I browned the meat alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I've used this recipe as a base several times and friends and family come over specifically for it when I'm making it. This is 5 stars with some alterations. It's supposed to be orange chicken, not lemon -that's another recipe. So, no lemon juice. I used orange juice in its stead. If the sauce ends up to thick, or you need more, you can add some juice from a container. I have also used ground ginger and garlic when I was out of fresh. It comes out just as good. I also omitted the green onion and added a bit more brown sugar. I've also made it with and without the peppers. It wasn't to hot with them. With the chicken I tossed it in the flour mixture, then some eggs with milk, then back in the flour mixture. It gave it a much nicer coating. I do this every time. I've tried adding the bread crumbs that other recipes call for and we didn't like it. It was like adding cornmeal...to gritty. With the flour mixture I added ground garlic and onion to it, something I always do. Then fried it in a couple inches of oil, in batches, keeping what was done warm in the oven. SO, as I said, with these changes it was great. Without the additions to the flour, it is bland. It is a must try recipe. I'm sure you could switch it to lemon or lime chicken, instead of orange, quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipe was easy to follow, but i felt like by simply dipping the chicken in flour, it did not turn out at all like the thick crispy fried outside that i think of when i think of orange chicken. What i did was dip the chicken in flour, then dredge it through some beaten egg whites, then re-dip in flour (mixed with a little cornstarch), then fry. This made a huge difference and made it look more like the chicken in the picture. My husband asked me to throw out the less battered pieces that i made according to the recipe at first. the sauce was pretty good though, i only needed half the cornstarch called for in the sauce, so i just kept pouring it in and stirring till it looked thick enough. i might add some finely diced red jalapenos. and sprinkle with sesame seeds to garnish at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Really good! My family was impressed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed everything exactly as written. I made sure the chicken was sufficiently cooled. A cup of sauce seemed like a little too much liquid to put in the bag. When I added the flour mixture it just went pasty. When I fried the chicken in the wok it was really clumpy and the coating came off and gooped together...Does anyone have any ideas how to rectify or improve this? I thought the taste was pretty good but I can't help but feel like I wasted 2 premium cuts of chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
A lot of work for good but not great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Needs more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This Orange Chicken recipe has been the best we have tried so far, and it is a keeper. It is easy to adjust the flavors to your preferences, without compromising the final product. Note, my marinade was boiling by the time I had the cornstarch mixture put together so it clumped up. I whisked it out, but next time, I will make that ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I won't make it again! I thought it was entirely too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States