Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Was pretty good, I used 1/2 the sugar which maybe made the taste a little more tart than sweet. The dish does look good. Presentation is excellent w/ broccoli or other greens. NOTE: Marinade overnight if possible, though I marinated for 20 mins and was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is my favorite food on earth. This recipe is fabulous. We make this regularly and get great results every time. Here are the adjustments I usually make: I switch the amounts for the lemon and orange juices because I like mine extra orangey. I use less than 1 cup of the liquid to marinade so I have more sauce at the end. I coat the chicken in egg in between marinating and flouring. I also add a bit of corn starch to the flour mixture. **Here is the secret to getting your breading to stick: Don't crowd the chicken in the pan! If the pieces are too close together, steam gets trapped in between and the breading with fall apart. Cook them in batches. We keep ours warm in the oven on a cooling rack over a jelly roll pan while we do the subsequent batch(es). Another note: I find that I use a different amount of cornstarch every single time. I don't know what variables are at play, so I don't add the whole amount at once. Add some, see if the sauce is thick enough; if not, add more, etc. Make sure that you mix your cornstarch thoroughly with cold water before adding to the sauce, otherwise it can clump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnithMerador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
No one else liked this, so can't make again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
My boyfriend loves orange chicken, and he said this was better than any others he has had before...including all restaurants. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Very good. I will cut back on the starch next time, we like our liquid thick but able to soak into the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Simply delicious. Easy to make but time consuming. I am 14 and have made this twice and twice have I wished I made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This chicken was awesome. We couldn't locate ginger root so we used ginger seasoning. Loved the flavor, definitely will have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
My husband made these and we loved them. It's hard to find good Chinese food in our area so that's why we sought out this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This recipe is soooo good. My 5 year old and 8 year old loved it. It was fun to make . It's not that healthy but all really good food isn't. Lol! I changed the recipe serving to 6 serving and it adjusted all the measurements. I will definitely will make this again .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Definitely a keeper! My husband and I are always on the hunt for good asian flavored dinners and are usually disappointed. This one was great! My husband told me over and over how much he liked it. The only things I'll do differently next time is reduce the cornstarch, as the sauce became very thick and chunky, and also slightly reduce the brown sugar as it was a bit on the sweet side. Over all I definitely recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States