Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because it was just too sweet. The flavor is beyond good, and I loved everything about it. I will make it again, but next time I will use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this recipe with some rice and stir fry vegetables for dinner it was delicious. The chicken was super citrusy with a little bit of a kick from the red pepper in the marinade. Although I did a few things differently: I put some salt, pepper, garlic salt, onion powder, and powdered ginger in my flour. I used sesame oil to brown my chicken and I substituted ponzu for the soy sauce. (like soy sauce but has a citrus flavour to it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Good orange chicken!! flour stuck to my pot a bit but that's ok. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gsparksmsp
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I put together a variation of the sauce on my first try. I used lime juice, juice from 1 orange and its zest, then 3 tbsp of orange (reduced sugar) marmalade. I was crunched for time so it marinaded for 2 1/2 days. I slowly added the cornstarch and water, and still only used about 1/2 of the slurry. When I have a little more time to prep - I'll hand write my grocery list, and get all of these ingredients rather than using the check boxes and getting lost in application codes. That's another post. I digress. Great ingredients, great mix of take out flavors. I'm taking this to work with me so I don't have to give in to that $$$ plate of orange chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsparksmsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
BEST I HAVE EVER MADE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This recipe is very.. odd. #1 - too much vinegar, too little orange juice. Double the juice and cut back to 1/4 cup of rice vinegar. #2 - the oil in skillet isnt enough for the breast size it recommends. USE A WOK. Get the oil SUPER HOT and drop in the chicken A SMALL AMOUNT AT A TIME. MAKE SURE THERE'S AT LEAST 1/2'' OF OIL AT THE BOTTOM. #3 - too little water for the starch. Add another 1/2 tbsp. Once it's all cooked, DO NOT ADD IT TO THE SAUCE. Add alittle sauce TO THE COOKED CHICKEN ON THE SIDE, at a time and toss it to coat. Once done, use alittle more to coat on the plate. ALSO, MAKE DOUBLE THE SAUCE and keep some on the side. Trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Add sauce right before serving. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
too sweet. Husband hated it. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe is amazing! Just like you ordered Chinese food. Although it takes a long time to prepare, it is definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States