Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Definitely a keeper! My husband and I are always on the hunt for good asian flavored dinners and are usually disappointed. This one was great! My husband told me over and over how much he liked it. The only things I'll do differently next time is reduce the cornstarch, as the sauce became very thick and chunky, and also slightly reduce the brown sugar as it was a bit on the sweet side. Over all I definitely recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
It is time consuming but I loved it and so did my family. I did lessen the zest as others mentioned it may be too sweet. I also saw reviews that combined cornstarch with the flour mixture to coat the chicken, and I did keep it warm in the oven so the breading wouldn't fall off in the sauce....BUT I couldn't resist not putting it back in the sauce, whereas others poured it on top after the fact. I wanted it to absorb the flavour however this does take away from the crispiness, but it's still sooooo tasty. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It was far too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Delicious, nice little kick from the red pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Unbelievable! Best orange chicken I have ever had including at restaurants! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made this for dinner, the flavor is great, but the texture was horrible, none of us liked it. I may try it again, but try to cook it different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because it was just too sweet. The flavor is beyond good, and I loved everything about it. I will make it again, but next time I will use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I made this recipe with some rice and stir fry vegetables for dinner it was delicious. The chicken was super citrusy with a little bit of a kick from the red pepper in the marinade. Although I did a few things differently: I put some salt, pepper, garlic salt, onion powder, and powdered ginger in my flour. I used sesame oil to brown my chicken and I substituted ponzu for the soy sauce. (like soy sauce but has a citrus flavour to it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Good orange chicken!! flour stuck to my pot a bit but that's ok. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gsparksmsp
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I put together a variation of the sauce on my first try. I used lime juice, juice from 1 orange and its zest, then 3 tbsp of orange (reduced sugar) marmalade. I was crunched for time so it marinaded for 2 1/2 days. I slowly added the cornstarch and water, and still only used about 1/2 of the slurry. When I have a little more time to prep - I'll hand write my grocery list, and get all of these ingredients rather than using the check boxes and getting lost in application codes. That's another post. I digress. Great ingredients, great mix of take out flavors. I'm taking this to work with me so I don't have to give in to that $$$ plate of orange chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsparksmsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States