Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I omitted the chicken, so can't comment on that. The sauce was DEELISH! Def a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I halved the brown sugar and still found this very sweet. I served it with stir-fried vegetables over white rice. The chicken itself was very good. I doubled the sauce, anticipating needing more, but didn't need more sauce. When I use the remaining sauce I'll use fresh stir-fried vegetables, rather than frozen, and add water chestnuts and thin slices of orange, halved, for more orange taste. Overall, this dish is just too sweet for us. We enjoyed trying it, though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Really good flavor. My husband gives it two thumbs up. Used zest from one orange and it really amped up the flavor. Will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dree Utic Purcell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My family gobbled this up! Followed the recipe accept I used cornstarch instead of flour to coat the chicken. For veggies, I added broccoli and red peppers. My girls love restaurant orange chicken, but I have not had any success in duplicating it at home. But this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a great sauce. We eat mostly vegetarian. I made this sauce to use with broccoli and seitan in a stir fry. It's really yummy. I added quite a bit more garlic, ginger and green onion to suit our taste. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Pretty good with a strong orange flavor. I made it as directed except added a cornstarch to the flour to get a more tempura vibe. A Chinese recipe I have for Sweet and Sour Pork used just cornstarch as a dredge and it's great. As others suggested, I did not return the chicken to the sauce, but poured the sauce over the chicken. I also recommend Mandarin Fire Oil as a seasoning on top. It brings out the flavor even more so, although sesame oil is a suitable replacement that adds no heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
A little too strong on the orange flavor for me. Plus for some reason, the breading fell off the chicken when I added it to the sauce, making a thick, goopy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for my family and got raves. I didn't have any green onions so I left onion out and I cut back a little bit on the red pepper flakes. It was so good. I made a mistake and used 1 1/2 cups orange juice so I added about 1 cup of water and cooked it down some. Really good. I also, cut the oil down as we eat very low fat. Loved the suggestion to keep the chicken warm in the oven and use 1/2 corn starch for coating. I served it with brown rice and it was perfect. I didn't have any left overs even though I used 4 chicken breasts. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My son no believes i am a master chef. He wants me to make this at least once or twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States