Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have a family of very picky eaters and they loved it!!! Very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this gluten free by using gluten-free flour and wheat-free soy sauce. I didn't have any rice-wine vinegar, so I used red-wine vinegar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was great! It has a strong, exotic, sweet, tangy, orange flavor that is better than any orange chicken I've had. Unlike some of the previous reviewers, I thought the amount of cornstarch was just right. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have tried this recipe. More lemony than orange. For orange chicken, add more orange juice and eliminate lemon juice. Do not need all the coating and cornstarch. Next time I will try orange chicken stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I omitted the chicken, so can't comment on that. The sauce was DEELISH! Def a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I halved the brown sugar and still found this very sweet. I served it with stir-fried vegetables over white rice. The chicken itself was very good. I doubled the sauce, anticipating needing more, but didn't need more sauce. When I use the remaining sauce I'll use fresh stir-fried vegetables, rather than frozen, and add water chestnuts and thin slices of orange, halved, for more orange taste. Overall, this dish is just too sweet for us. We enjoyed trying it, though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Really good flavor. My husband gives it two thumbs up. Used zest from one orange and it really amped up the flavor. Will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreeSoCalGirl P

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
My family gobbled this up! Followed the recipe accept I used cornstarch instead of flour to coat the chicken. For veggies, I added broccoli and red peppers. My girls love restaurant orange chicken, but I have not had any success in duplicating it at home. But this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a great sauce. We eat mostly vegetarian. I made this sauce to use with broccoli and seitan in a stir fry. It's really yummy. I added quite a bit more garlic, ginger and green onion to suit our taste. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Pretty good with a strong orange flavor. I made it as directed except added a cornstarch to the flour to get a more tempura vibe. A Chinese recipe I have for Sweet and Sour Pork used just cornstarch as a dredge and it's great. As others suggested, I did not return the chicken to the sauce, but poured the sauce over the chicken. I also recommend Mandarin Fire Oil as a seasoning on top. It brings out the flavor even more so, although sesame oil is a suitable replacement that adds no heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
A little too strong on the orange flavor for me. Plus for some reason, the breading fell off the chicken when I added it to the sauce, making a thick, goopy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States