Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
very good reciepe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wil

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Let me begin by saying I really liked this. However I had a few technical issues. For the sauce I used 3 T of carton OJ instead of 2. I zested an orange as directed but instead of wasting the orange, I juiced it into the saucepan. Skipped ginger out of personal preference. When Browning the chicken I found it did not get crispy, but kind of browned. It was gummy on outside when I served. I made the error of putting in the cornstarch slurry all at once to the sauce. Turned my head for a few and it had become solid. Totally my error. It took a bit of working to fix it, but was able to salvage. The flavor in this dish is wonderful. I will make again, but probably try a different route with coating and Browning my chicken. It did go over well with my 12 year old, which is no easy task. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by FoodPlease!
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Yes, Yes, YES!! THIS was great! Repeated recipe for sure. I initially did this recipe with boneless, skinless chicken thighs. It was good, but when I made it with chicken breast, I realized that the breast was definitely the better option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodPlease!

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I overbaked the chicken last night and used the sauce of this recipe to revitalize it.......really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I made this today and we couldn't stop eating it. I used self rising flour, and didn't have any trouble coating the chicken. Self rising flour gives a nice thick coating to the chicken. This is an excellent recipe. Make it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is a great recipe.I used 1 1/2 cups orange juice and 2 tbl of water.I also used sesame oil like others suggested reduced corn starch also.My family and I have made this 3 times. Its a no fail recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
delicious! we have tried many versions and this is by far our favorite. we used fresh squeezed orange juice rather than from a carton and used less brown sugar and added orange marmalade (about 2tbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Everyone in our family loved the chicken. Definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
We really liked this! My husband is a big fan of a good Orange Chicken and, frankly, I think this was much better than most I have tried in restaurants. I made it as written with the exception of the addition of some panko bread crumbs mixed into the seasoned flour and a bit of sesame oil per others' suggestions. Oh, and I served the sauce on the side, just because that's the kind of girl I am. By necessity, I made the marinade and marinated the chicken the night before and boy was I glad!! The flavor absolutely permeated the meat and it was fantastic even with no sauce on it at all. The lemon juice, orange zest, rice vinegar combination is brilliant - the citrus taste holds up much better than orange alone would. Next time? Would probably back off a tiny bit on the sugar and double the red pepper flakes. Would use less cornstarch, as others have also noted and be just a bit little freer with the garlic and ginger. All just based on personal preference. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. My family will make good use of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFowler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by carena_05
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Amazing!! I made this for my boyfriend and he ate ALL OF IT, including leftover that night.. It took some time to prepare but was worth it. I did however make a couple changes. I used about 1/2 cup orange marmalade to add some more flavor, only about 1/2 cup brn sugar, instead of all water I sub'd out 1/2 cup for Orange juice, and let my chicken marinade for about 5 hrs. I also doubled my breading and added some garlic salt and toasted sesame seeds, then double dipped my chicken in the flour for better coating. Definitely do not recook the chicken in the sauce, just toss it a little before serving. AMAZING MEAL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carena_05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States