Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I made this today and we couldn't stop eating it. I used self rising flour, and didn't have any trouble coating the chicken. Self rising flour gives a nice thick coating to the chicken. This is an excellent recipe. Make it and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is a great recipe.I used 1 1/2 cups orange juice and 2 tbl of water.I also used sesame oil like others suggested reduced corn starch also.My family and I have made this 3 times. Its a no fail recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
delicious! we have tried many versions and this is by far our favorite. we used fresh squeezed orange juice rather than from a carton and used less brown sugar and added orange marmalade (about 2tbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Everyone in our family loved the chicken. Definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
We really liked this! My husband is a big fan of a good Orange Chicken and, frankly, I think this was much better than most I have tried in restaurants. I made it as written with the exception of the addition of some panko bread crumbs mixed into the seasoned flour and a bit of sesame oil per others' suggestions. Oh, and I served the sauce on the side, just because that's the kind of girl I am. By necessity, I made the marinade and marinated the chicken the night before and boy was I glad!! The flavor absolutely permeated the meat and it was fantastic even with no sauce on it at all. The lemon juice, orange zest, rice vinegar combination is brilliant - the citrus taste holds up much better than orange alone would. Next time? Would probably back off a tiny bit on the sugar and double the red pepper flakes. Would use less cornstarch, as others have also noted and be just a bit little freer with the garlic and ginger. All just based on personal preference. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe. My family will make good use of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFowler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by carena_05
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Amazing!! I made this for my boyfriend and he ate ALL OF IT, including leftover that night.. It took some time to prepare but was worth it. I did however make a couple changes. I used about 1/2 cup orange marmalade to add some more flavor, only about 1/2 cup brn sugar, instead of all water I sub'd out 1/2 cup for Orange juice, and let my chicken marinade for about 5 hrs. I also doubled my breading and added some garlic salt and toasted sesame seeds, then double dipped my chicken in the flour for better coating. Definitely do not recook the chicken in the sauce, just toss it a little before serving. AMAZING MEAL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carena_05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was a delicious recipe except that the vinegar was way too much. I am going to modify the vinegar to 2-3 tablespoons and see how that tastes. With less vinegar this would be a 5 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
one of the worst dishes ever to come out of my kitchen. the sauce had a raw ginger and garlic taste and it was sweet like a jam. the orange zest added to the taste of disaster. it was acidic and bothering to the taste buds. although i put half the vinegar and more lemon juice, it smelled so bad and it was yucky! the idea with coating the chicken this was is for sure not a winner. all the coating comes off while frying and the rest comes off in the sauce looking very unappealing. chicken was soggy and lacking all touches of a chinese dish. we went to eat out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Ok, but not exactly what I'd been looking for. Sauce was a little too thin and not very orange-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Loved it. I was not sure I had enough zest so i just put in a heaping teaspoon of orange marmalade. I think the real key to this recipe though is the marinating of the chicken. Next time if I'm also making egg rolls I think I will find a tempura batter and deep fry the chicken so that it is extra crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States