Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very good! I used fresh squeezed oj instead of water in the sauce, omitted the pepper flakes and used dried ginger. We prepare a lot of Chinese entrees, and this is among the best! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
VERY citrus-y. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
It was delicious, people were going back for seconds and there was NOTHING left! I did make a change after reading a few reviews; instead of using a cup and a half of water I substituted 1/2 cup water for juice, added 1 cup chopped blanched carrots and completely omitted the breading process, instead I browned the meat alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I've used this recipe as a base several times and friends and family come over specifically for it when I'm making it. This is 5 stars with some alterations. It's supposed to be orange chicken, not lemon -that's another recipe. So, no lemon juice. I used orange juice in its stead. If the sauce ends up to thick, or you need more, you can add some juice from a container. I have also used ground ginger and garlic when I was out of fresh. It comes out just as good. I also omitted the green onion and added a bit more brown sugar. I've also made it with and without the peppers. It wasn't to hot with them. With the chicken I tossed it in the flour mixture, then some eggs with milk, then back in the flour mixture. It gave it a much nicer coating. I do this every time. I've tried adding the bread crumbs that other recipes call for and we didn't like it. It was like adding cornmeal...to gritty. With the flour mixture I added ground garlic and onion to it, something I always do. Then fried it in a couple inches of oil, in batches, keeping what was done warm in the oven. SO, as I said, with these changes it was great. Without the additions to the flour, it is bland. It is a must try recipe. I'm sure you could switch it to lemon or lime chicken, instead of orange, quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipe was easy to follow, but i felt like by simply dipping the chicken in flour, it did not turn out at all like the thick crispy fried outside that i think of when i think of orange chicken. What i did was dip the chicken in flour, then dredge it through some beaten egg whites, then re-dip in flour (mixed with a little cornstarch), then fry. This made a huge difference and made it look more like the chicken in the picture. My husband asked me to throw out the less battered pieces that i made according to the recipe at first. the sauce was pretty good though, i only needed half the cornstarch called for in the sauce, so i just kept pouring it in and stirring till it looked thick enough. i might add some finely diced red jalapenos. and sprinkle with sesame seeds to garnish at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Really good! My family was impressed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed everything exactly as written. I made sure the chicken was sufficiently cooled. A cup of sauce seemed like a little too much liquid to put in the bag. When I added the flour mixture it just went pasty. When I fried the chicken in the wok it was really clumpy and the coating came off and gooped together...Does anyone have any ideas how to rectify or improve this? I thought the taste was pretty good but I can't help but feel like I wasted 2 premium cuts of chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
A lot of work for good but not great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Needs more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This Orange Chicken recipe has been the best we have tried so far, and it is a keeper. It is easy to adjust the flavors to your preferences, without compromising the final product. Note, my marinade was boiling by the time I had the cornstarch mixture put together so it clumped up. I whisked it out, but next time, I will make that ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States