Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is one my family (and friends) favorite meals. It is so flavorful, especially when you let the chicken marinate for 1-2 days. I make a few changes when I don't have all the ingredients on hand. For example, I use ginger powder instead of fresh ginger. I'm not a fan of spice so I omit the fed flakes and it still tastes divine. The orange zest, while it makes it taste great can be left out and I often do. If you are looking for a lower fat option you can bake the breaded chicken at 375 for about 10 minutes each side. It doesn't get as crispy, but still delicious. Then just add to the sauce when cooked. This makes scrumptious left overs. Put it over rice and some steamed broccoli and you have a fantastic dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Perfect. I loved it, but my 4 yr old found it a bit spicy. Since I always leave the sauce off and let each person dictate the amount of sauce, it worked out wonderfully for everyone. Next time I may leave out the red pepper flakes just to tone it down for my 4 yr old, but otherwise it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
So good. Time consuming but totally worth it! I recommend double dipping the breaking and then deep frying. Will make this again and again. We love this kind of chicken and now I feel like I can eat it without feeling like its mystery meat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennH
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Time intensive, but worth the effort. I used fresh oranges and lemons for juice. I also replaced some of the water with pineapple juice and cut the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. Instead of olive oil, I used sesame oil, instead of corn starch, arrowroot powder. I made brown rice and stir fried snow peas, broccoli flowers, grated carrots, and diced red peppers. Rice went on the plate first, followed by the vegies, then the chicken, and last the sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Was pretty good, I used 1/2 the sugar which maybe made the taste a little more tart than sweet. The dish does look good. Presentation is excellent w/ broccoli or other greens. NOTE: Marinade overnight if possible, though I marinated for 20 mins and was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is my favorite food on earth. This recipe is fabulous. We make this regularly and get great results every time. Here are the adjustments I usually make: I switch the amounts for the lemon and orange juices because I like mine extra orangey. I use less than 1 cup of the liquid to marinade so I have more sauce at the end. I coat the chicken in egg in between marinating and flouring. I also add a bit of corn starch to the flour mixture. **Here is the secret to getting your breading to stick: Don't crowd the chicken in the pan! If the pieces are too close together, steam gets trapped in between and the breading with fall apart. Cook them in batches. We keep ours warm in the oven on a cooling rack over a jelly roll pan while we do the subsequent batch(es). Another note: I find that I use a different amount of cornstarch every single time. I don't know what variables are at play, so I don't add the whole amount at once. Add some, see if the sauce is thick enough; if not, add more, etc. Make sure that you mix your cornstarch thoroughly with cold water before adding to the sauce, otherwise it can clump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnithMerador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
No one else liked this, so can't make again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
My boyfriend loves orange chicken, and he said this was better than any others he has had before...including all restaurants. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Very good. I will cut back on the starch next time, we like our liquid thick but able to soak into the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States