Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My family really enjoyed this recipe. Personally, I did not like the vinegar flavor and I think i would have prefered there to be more of an orangey flavor. The Sauce turned out too solid for me. However, my family put a star by it and they really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Tried it. Didn't have enough time to refrigerate for 2 hours. Came out with a little to much vinegar taste, but it was good with rice. Might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Love this!!! The only change I made was to cook the chicken in coconut oil with no breading. Much healthier and the flavor is excellent. Next time I will stir fry some broccoli and red pepper in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Taste is great if you like sweet. Next time will try coating chicken with egg before breading, use cornstarch instead of flour, and maybe reduce the brown sugar a little. Had to use at least 1T of cornstarch for the sauce because it wasn't thickening but didn't keep track of how much it was. Another reviewer said they left out the pepper flakes because they don't like heat but this dish is very mild. We don't like hot at my house (don't even have a bottle of hot sauce or Sriracha) and have made many dishes spicier than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe was really good. I didn't have fresh ginger only powdered and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used to make orange chicken from the Lee Kum Kee packets for my blended family of 6, but always wanted to try it from scratch. I'll admit I was a little skeptical at first but even the sauce alone was tasty. The only tricky part of this recipe (or any orange chicken recipe for that matter) is getting a good fry on your chicken. I wasn't pleased with the way I fried my chicken but my family LOVED it regardless. This is something I will definitely do again...and again...and again! Next time I bread my chicken I will avoid getting the marinade and juices in the flour (my fault) and I will shallow fry it in my pan. Thank you so much chef Wetzel, your recipe has 6 new fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
The sauce was much too sweet and there was way too much sauce per amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
My family absolutely loves this recipe. They will not order orange chicken any where else now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monirunner
Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
While this did taste good, I'm not sure it's worth all the steps to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was very good! I made it with grilled chicken and added some chili oil to the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Sanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States