Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipe was easy to follow, but i felt like by simply dipping the chicken in flour, it did not turn out at all like the thick crispy fried outside that i think of when i think of orange chicken. What i did was dip the chicken in flour, then dredge it through some beaten egg whites, then re-dip in flour (mixed with a little cornstarch), then fry. This made a huge difference and made it look more like the chicken in the picture. My husband asked me to throw out the less battered pieces that i made according to the recipe at first. the sauce was pretty good though, i only needed half the cornstarch called for in the sauce, so i just kept pouring it in and stirring till it looked thick enough. i might add some finely diced red jalapenos. and sprinkle with sesame seeds to garnish at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Really good! My family was impressed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed everything exactly as written. I made sure the chicken was sufficiently cooled. A cup of sauce seemed like a little too much liquid to put in the bag. When I added the flour mixture it just went pasty. When I fried the chicken in the wok it was really clumpy and the coating came off and gooped together...Does anyone have any ideas how to rectify or improve this? I thought the taste was pretty good but I can't help but feel like I wasted 2 premium cuts of chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
A lot of work for good but not great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Needs more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This Orange Chicken recipe has been the best we have tried so far, and it is a keeper. It is easy to adjust the flavors to your preferences, without compromising the final product. Note, my marinade was boiling by the time I had the cornstarch mixture put together so it clumped up. I whisked it out, but next time, I will make that ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I won't make it again! I thought it was entirely too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
delicious! I did use a little less brown sugar (3/4 cup) and used flour instead of cornstarch for thickening -- and I let it simmer away for a while because it was still too watery for my tastes. I just wish I had made a double batch, since my currently picky kids even ate the leftovers. will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have a family of very picky eaters and they loved it!!! Very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this gluten free by using gluten-free flour and wheat-free soy sauce. I didn't have any rice-wine vinegar, so I used red-wine vinegar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was great! It has a strong, exotic, sweet, tangy, orange flavor that is better than any orange chicken I've had. Unlike some of the previous reviewers, I thought the amount of cornstarch was just right. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States