Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I don't know what I did wrong. I followed everything exactly as written. I made sure the chicken was sufficiently cooled. A cup of sauce seemed like a little too much liquid to put in the bag. When I added the flour mixture it just went pasty. When I fried the chicken in the wok it was really clumpy and the coating came off and gooped together...Does anyone have any ideas how to rectify or improve this? I thought the taste was pretty good but I can't help but feel like I wasted 2 premium cuts of chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
A lot of work for good but not great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie_Luvs_2_cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Needs more orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This Orange Chicken recipe has been the best we have tried so far, and it is a keeper. It is easy to adjust the flavors to your preferences, without compromising the final product. Note, my marinade was boiling by the time I had the cornstarch mixture put together so it clumped up. I whisked it out, but next time, I will make that ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I won't make it again! I thought it was entirely too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin MaLoon Rowley

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
delicious! I did use a little less brown sugar (3/4 cup) and used flour instead of cornstarch for thickening -- and I let it simmer away for a while because it was still too watery for my tastes. I just wish I had made a double batch, since my currently picky kids even ate the leftovers. will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have a family of very picky eaters and they loved it!!! Very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this gluten free by using gluten-free flour and wheat-free soy sauce. I didn't have any rice-wine vinegar, so I used red-wine vinegar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly, and it was great! It has a strong, exotic, sweet, tangy, orange flavor that is better than any orange chicken I've had. Unlike some of the previous reviewers, I thought the amount of cornstarch was just right. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have tried this recipe. More lemony than orange. For orange chicken, add more orange juice and eliminate lemon juice. Do not need all the coating and cornstarch. Next time I will try orange chicken stir fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I omitted the chicken, so can't comment on that. The sauce was DEELISH! Def a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States