Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Wow I have been looking for this recipe for quite some time and VERY glad you shared it! This recipes is a keeper very authentic taste; my husband absolutely loved it!! Thanks again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
The coating is tricky. If you don't feel like dealing with the flour give it a try without. Flavor is very good. Orange flavor was not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe was easy to make and very tasty. I added red bell peppers and almonds and wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It was delicious!!! Only modifications: I would use about 2 tablespoons of water per tablespoon of cornstarch, so that the sauce is not as thick or use only 1 tablespoon of cornstarch instead of 3. Also, deep fry the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Wonderful, glorious! That said, I don't usually have OJ around, so I bought some frozen and used 1/2 T, didn't have ginger and didn't miss it, and doubled the crushed red peppers (know your audience!). After reading other comments, I started heating the sauce w/cornstarch while the chicken was cooking and poured it over when the meat was done. It thickened up on contact. My husband said not to change it at all. Thank you, Harry! Even though I played with it a bit, this is exactly what I was looking for with a great balance of citrus, spice and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
They should really have a 4 1/2 rating. Great recipe. Most of the time for this recipe is making the sauce and the amount of time to marinade. Make sure to use enough flour or the chicken won't coat properly and will fall off. (Happened to me.) Everyone loved this. Made with rice and broccoli. No leftovers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason&MitchellsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This recipe was a great start for launching a variation with veggies that I made after perusing other reviews. The end result was scrumptious and turned an entree into a one dish dinner. Changes I made were: reconstituted Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base instead of plain water, a Microplane zester/grater for the orange peel and fresh ginger, garlic press for the garlic, skipped the chicken coating and instead stir fried briefly in a mixture of sesame and olive oils. Stir fried a mixture of 1" sliced green onions, chunked red and orange peppers, sliced baby carrots, snow peas, and sliced mushrooms in sesame/olive oil, transfered to a separate bowl so I could prepare the sauce. (I used original ratio of cornstarch to water with excellent results.) Returned chicken to pan of sauce to simmer as directed in the recipe. Scooped cooked rice on dinner plate, covered it with al dente veggies, then chicken and a spoonful of sauce. Attractive to the eyes and pleasing to the palate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Very good. Will make again but will take the suggestions of others and pour the sauce over next time because my batter did fall off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Missing something.but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This recipe is missing a few important tweaks that keep it from being a GREAT recipe. When following the instructions, the sauce turned out really good--I added some more orange juice to boost the "orange" taste. But the chicken was awful. This meal also takes a long time to prepare, which sucks the fun out of it. If I were to do it again, I would follow the recipe's instructions for the orange sauce and used precooked chicken chunks in place of the recipe's suggestion. This would save time, dirty less dishes, make the taste worth the work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States