Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
this was really good i forgot about it so it only marinated for an hour and a half but it was still very flavorful and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elanore1D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Great recipe! this is great as is, the first time I made it I used clementines instead of oranges and it works great with them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Delicious! I tried the recipe as written the first time, and it was very tasty. The second time I was in a hurry and opted not to marinade the chicken in the orange sauce, and while the rice cooked, I simply sauteed the chicken, added a couple of cups of broccoli to the pan, let that cook for a few minutes, then served chicken and broccoli over rice, drizzling the sauce on afterwards. This way, you can always add more if it needs it. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made this marinade to spice up some leftover homemade chicken strips that we had for dinner last night. I used apple cider vinegar instead of rice vinegar, but followed the recipe otherwise. Both of my kids thought that the orange flavor was way too strong and wouldn't eat it. I thought it was a bit strong as well so I would definitely cut back on the zest (and perhaps leave it out all together) if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
SO HAPPY! Can't get over how easy this recipe is! I follow the recipe exactly & have no issues. Delighted to be able to cook an Asian-style recipe and have it be no fuss and come out delicious every time!!!!! THANK YOU Mr. Wetzel!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennygurl
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
What a wonderful recipe! I'm so proud to make this for my husband, who absolutely loved it. I've been cooking for some time, and my repertoire is quite diverse, but this recipe is vastly different from everything else I make. I tried my best to follow the recipe, except that I didn't have any lemon so I just added more orange juice. More specifically, I used the juice and zest of one medium orange. I also used coconut palm sugar instead of brown sugar because we don't use any other sweeteners in our home. I used 3/4 cup instead of one cup and I think it was still a little too sweet for my taste. However, my husband thought it was perfect. Next time I'll try a heaping 1/2 cup instead. Instead of flour, I used all cornstarch for the breading along with some salt, pepper and garlic powder. I sauteed some carrots, green onions, mushrooms, red and green bell peppers, and asparagus on the side. Instead of adding the cooked chicken to the sauce,I added the veggies, chicken and sauce on top of cooked rice. I did this per the suggestions of other reviewers and it was wonderful this way. Thank you so much for this beautiful recipe. I will serve it the next time I have dinner guests! And even sooner for my sweet husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Wow!!!! This definitely has restaurant quality! Very good! However, I totally by pass the frying chicken part. Just too much work; so, I buy frozen chicken bites, bake them, and, then, coat them with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made this tonight but reduced the sugar to a scant one quarter cup. If you are a family that has cut most refined sugar out of your diet you will not miss the sugar at all. We used a very ripe California orange and thought it was delicious. Next time we may try even less sugar! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very good! I used fresh squeezed oj instead of water in the sauce, omitted the pepper flakes and used dried ginger. We prepare a lot of Chinese entrees, and this is among the best! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Sparks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
VERY citrus-y. We didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States