Asian Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe was really good. I didn't have fresh ginger only powdered and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used to make orange chicken from the Lee Kum Kee packets for my blended family of 6, but always wanted to try it from scratch. I'll admit I was a little skeptical at first but even the sauce alone was tasty. The only tricky part of this recipe (or any orange chicken recipe for that matter) is getting a good fry on your chicken. I wasn't pleased with the way I fried my chicken but my family LOVED it regardless. This is something I will definitely do again...and again...and again! Next time I bread my chicken I will avoid getting the marinade and juices in the flour (my fault) and I will shallow fry it in my pan. Thank you so much chef Wetzel, your recipe has 6 new fans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I followed the measurements precisely, but the sauce was much too sweet and there was way too much sauce per amount of chicken. The meal was inedible. We pitched it and went out for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
My family absolutely loves this recipe. They will not order orange chicken any where else now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monirunner
Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
While this did taste good, I'm not sure it's worth all the steps to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was very good! I made it with grilled chicken and added some chili oil to the sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Sanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I was hopeful because the reviews on the were great, but we were so disappointed. Everything was going fine until we had to reheat the sauce and add the cornstarch. As soon as put the cornstarch/water mixture into the sauce, it curdled. So we had to pick clumps of cornstarch out. We ended up gradually adding it to the sauce. Then when we added the chicken, all the breading came right off and our Asian Orange Chicken turned into a breading soup of sorts. It was awful. If I had any advice it would be to skip the whole flour process and you might have more luck than we did. The taste was OK, but panda express is still better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My grandson wanted orange chicken and found this recipe. Everyone loved it including my grandsons one which is very picky.Thank you. It takes more time than I was planning but sure worth if.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This sauce is amazing! I made just regular fried chicken amnd smothered it in this sauce and oh boy!tastes very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My family loved this recipe. I used some of the tips people mentioned and I made it Gluten-Free. Key changes to the sauce: added 3/4 cup of chicken broth, 3/4 cup water and 1/4 cup pineapple juice, also added another teaspoon of lemon juice and added 2 tablespoons of dry sherry and 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger and the 3 cloves of minced garlic and didn't pack the brown sugar (and gluten-free soy sauce). I added some of the pieces of the orange I used and squeezed the juice. I used heated sesame oil and only 1 1/2 teaspoons of corn starch and cooked stirring for 5 minutes and then added the sauce and brought to a boil and this made a nice thickness for the sauce. For gluten-free chicken: I used 1 cup of Quinoa Flour and 1/3 cup potato starch and 1/4 teaspoon of Xantham gum. I also used the egg recommendation with water but dipped the chicken in the flour then in the egg and then back in the flour. I fried the chicken in 1/2 sesame oil and 1/2 sunflower oil. My family definitely wants this again and my 2 year old said MMMMM- yummy. The dish bursts with flavor. Note: Definitely double the sauce if you add vegetable or more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States