Asian Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I'm rating this recipe even though I actually made so many changes that it's not really the same recipe at all. I made the dressing first. I mixed the rice wine vinegar and the soy sauce and added 1 1/2 tablespoons of brown sugar. We're very calorie conscious, so instead of adding the oil to the dressing, I grilled some diced tofu in one tablespoon of sesame oil. After the tofu was basically grilled, I added some diced onions and added the mushrooms (I used button mushrooms, which were good, but next time I'll try to use shitakes). I grilled all of this together and then added the whole mixture to the dressing marinade and let the tofu and mushrooms soak up the flavor of the dressing. I then boiled up the pasta and added some bell peppers at the very end of the boiling time. After draining, I mixed the pasta in with the dressing mixture, and mixed it all up and let it sit for about 10 minutes for the flavors to absorb into the pasta. MMMMMMMMM...it was so good! So, as you can see, I didn't actually follow the recipe that much, but what I made turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
WOW!!! This was great and so easy to prepare. I included a teaspoon of toasted sesame oil for a little more Asian flavor and doubled the fresh ginger, as I can never get enough. An instant favorite!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe and very quick and easy to prepare. Shiitake mushrooms weren't available, so I used Cremini mushrooms as suggested. I made this for an event and received rave reviews. I will definitely make this again when I can get the Shiitake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
If I could have, I would have given this ten stars on the quickness rating. Start to finish, this recipe takes no more than 15 minutes, and it's really easy and delicious. I added a tablespoon of brown sugar to the dressing, as it was quite sour. That really rounded it off well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
I wasn't sure about this at first but I enjoyed it. Next time I will add some peas and maybe carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I used 1/2 Tbsp each sesame and chili oils instead of vegetable oil which gave the dressing some zing. I just couldn't see boiling the cremini mushrooms, so I sauteed the mushrooms and red pepper strips. Also, garnished with sliced green onions instead of parsley (chopped peanuts would be yummy, too). I do think that this needs more veggies (any kind that suits you) because 8-oz of capellini is a lot of pasta. The warm pasta was like a sponge and soaked up ALL of the dressing. The chilled leftover salad will need to have a little dressing added, otherwise, it's going to be too dry. Good noodle salad, but I really can't say that there's anything to distinguish it from others that I've had. And that's not to say that we didn't enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
I had everything on hand for a tasty noodle salad. I am going to play with the sauce to give it some more flavor. Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Good and very easy. I added sesame oil, sesame seeds, and red chili peppers to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Very quick and yummy. Also good with chopped portabello in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coxxxxcg
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Great recipe, except of course, made a few changes and additions. I added diced chicken breasts, broccoli and peas, along with 1/4 c. of light brown sugar to the dressing. I used thin spaghetti since I had it on hand.....Didn't even have to go to the store....had everything in the pantry and frig! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States