Asian Noodle and Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
The recipe ingredient list calls for "ramen noodles," no particular flavor, so I bought "chicken." I did not realize until I read step 3 that it was supposed to be "Oriental," so I adapted the dressing with what I had on hand. I cut back a little on the vegetable oil and added a bit of both sesame and chili oils, as well as some Thai garlic chili paste. The dressing ended up tasting wonderful with just a little pop of heat from the chili paste and chili oil. The rotini I had on hand was multi-color and to brighten it even more, I added a little bit of sliced red bell pepper, peeled & seeded cucumber chunks, and squeezed some fresh lime juice over it. The one thing I wasn't crazy about was the dry ramen noodles. I think I would prefer chopped peanuts, but that just could be a personal taste preference. Overall, a very nice pasta salad with good presentation. Thanks, Lori, for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was not as flavorful as I expected. I have been making the coleslaw with ramen noodle dressing for years and expected this to have that flavor. I plan to make that recipe's dressing, but use the pasta, sugar peas and carrots of this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made this for a potluck and it turned out fairly well, but I thought the dressing was missing something, but not sure what. Perhaps a bit of vinegar? Mine turned out a bit dry too because I think I had too much pasta. I used prepackaged carrot slaw instead of having to slice the carrots too. Overall, pretty good, but needs some more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Tasty, quick, cheap, and I always have the ingredients on hand. Definitely broke college student approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is a flavorful pasta salad that is great for pot lucks, and when you want something light and quick. I added some sesame seed oil to the recipe the second time I made this and I loved the addition. I also used small shell pasta, and fresh peas, so this recipe is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGDiOrio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA
Living In: Calhan, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
While this was a definitely a tasty dish, I would have preferred the dressing to have been more substantial. It was very mild and just slightly sweet. Next time I would try adding a thicker asian-type dressing, or try to doctor up the original dressing with some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Turned out great! I doubled this recipe for a picnic. I added a little seasme oil and some seasme seeds. I also used the packaged shredded brocolli blend because the store was out of carrots. I also used the frozen peas because I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESR1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This is quick and tasty. Great for parties, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
This was good, but I must have cooked too much pasta because I didn't have enough sauce. My salad was a little drier than I prefer. I will make again though, just reduce the pasta some. Since you need the Ramen sauce pack to make the sauce I can't really double it easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Good recipe for people on an extremely tight budget. I was surprised by the taste. I thought ramen flavor packet would make it unbearably salty, but it came out fine. Instead of vegetable oil and snap peas, I used olive oil and regular frozen peas. I also added cheddar cheese and olives and left out the red onions since I didn’t have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States