Asian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this for my daughter and her fiancé. They are vegan so it was made with veggie broth without the chicken. They loved it and asked for the recipe. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was a quick, simple and delicious soup! I did add another cup of broth. My family all liked it a lot. I will definitely make this again. It is even good for someone that isn't overly fond of mushrooms (like my daughter) as the mushroom flavour is not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Loved it! My Daughter and I made this "on the fly" after returning from an authentic sushi establishment hours before. Inspired, yet still hungry for more, we decided to look up a simple soup to satiate our needs. Perfect! Quick, easy and versatile. While we didn't have all the ingredients in our pantry, the base recipe was great. I definitely recommend the "low sodium" recommendations. i.e., soy sauce, chicken broth. You can always add salt, you can't take it away. We used low sodium soy sauce, broth, canned portabello mushrooms, ginger powder, minced garlic and finely diced shallot,& shredded carrot. We skipped the cabbage, spinach and replaced spring onion with shallot, because we didn't have it. We Salt and peppered to taste. We were fortunate to have Mirin and Udon noodles. I highly recommend. It really DOES make an authentic difference. We recommend the Udon noodles because of cooking time and texture. The Mirin because of it's subtle sweetness. The shallot worked just as well for flavor, but I can see how the green onion does make it aesthetically pleasing. Either way, it was a very light, crisp, comforting, pleasing and satisfying result. Preparation was easy. Great recipe with innumerable applications. In this case, simple was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sit_us_in Kane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Linthicum Heights, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made it vegetarian without chicken, but surprisingly flavorful and super easy. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I cut out the chicken breast to make this vegan and instead of the chicken broth, I used water and Edward & Sons Not Beef bouillon. I also used more veggies to make this a heartier meal. Came out perfect and delicious. This is now going to be a regular at my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I really enjoyed making this recipe. I used both fresh and dried mushrooms, and added a little more ginger and garlic than the recipe suggested. It's all to taste, I don't think you can mess this recipe up. After reading some reviews I used the 2 cups of broth I rehydrated the dried mushrooms in and added to the 4 cups of chicken broth. It was great without adding any type of noodles, very hearty, healthy and satisfying. I will definately make it again and try new combinations or shrimp rather than chicken and add noodles and perhaps some fresh herbs. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I made this with twice as much chicken and udon noodles and it turned out fine, although I needed to add extra water to keep the right proportions. I used 1 8-oz. package of regular mushrooms, half a package of frozen spinach, about one carrot and a bunch of green onions to make the amount suggested, although these could have been doubled as well. In addition to the fact that all the measurements were in cups, which I found a bit confusing, the directions could be clearer - one needs to cook both the chicken and the noodles first to make it work with the cooking time allotted (and not get salmonella). ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This was a fantastic! I followed this exactly except I did not find mirin or Udon noodles. I used another type of asian rice noodle instead. I also recomend a squeeze of a lime wedge into your bowl! (not the entire pot) I learned that from a local vietnamese place, it's a must! My 10 year old daughter said it tasted just like the soup we have at our favorite Japanese Habatci grill. My husand who is very nit picky, agreed with her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Wow! The flavour in this soup was amazing! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States