Asian Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I wish I could give this 4.5 stars, because it's dangerously close to a 5-star recipe, but it's not quite there. I gotta tell you, this recipe is an AWESOME way to sneak in those veggie soy crumbles (looks like ground beef, but doesn't always taste like it...except it TOTALLY works in this recipe). Definitely make the sauce as suggested by another reviewer (1 tsp sesame oil, 2 T soy, 2 T rice vinegar, 1 T chile paste)...in my opinion, the sauce makes this a 5-star recipe! I used regular fresh ginger rather than pickled, and shredded some carrots to serve on top of everything. I would have LOVED to have those nice crunchy noodle-y things, but once I heard they are fried in oil, I had to say "no thanks!" I'm definitely going to make these again (they're really easy to make, by the way) and will also pass on the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1041 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Loved it! Added about 2Tbs of chili paste for spice. Next time I am going to make with ground turkey and add thinly sliced carrots and rice noodles for crunch. I made an asian dipping sauce to add on like at PF Changs (1tsp sesame oil, 2T soy, 2T rice vinegar, 1T chile paste, sugar and i green onion slices)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
725 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I've been eating lettuce wrap at many Chinese restaurants since I was a little kid, so I have over 3 decades worth of eating this stuff. I've tried many different variations and can attest that this recipe is top-notch. However, instead of ground beef, most Chinese restaurants use ground pork or duck. Except for substituting ground beef for ground pork and omitting the pickled ginger (since I didn't have any in the house), I made no changes to the recipe. As a suggestion, try serving the meat over a bed of crispy rice noodles (vermicelli) as I've seen done in many restaurants. Simply heat some oil and dunk a small handful of noodles at a time...they crisp up in a couple of seconds. Not only does it make the presentation nice, it adds a nice crisp crunch to the meat mixture. Also, for extra burst of flavour, put a bit of hoisin sauce (see recipe here as well) before wrapping it up in a lettuce leaf, as one other person suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
531 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
If I could give 7 stars, I would! My variations: I don't like ginger & finding pickled ginger wasn't worth my efforts so I omitted it. I did add a very healthy portion (perhaps up to 2 tbsn) of Thai sweet chili pepper sauce (looks like a clear gelatin with red confetti in it). I thought this tasted EXACTLY like PF Chang's, but without the hefty appetizer price. The key to getting the taste just right, is the sesame oil. (It has a strong flavor & if it's missing, won't quite taste the same as PF Chang's, but don't over do it!) For serving these as an appetizer, I used the leaves from butter (Bibb) lettuce. They are sturdy enough, but much smaller than iceberg and have a vibrant green color so they make the perfect appetizer ingredient or the perfect size for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darbie Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I was made this last night for my husband who loves PF Changs lettuce wraps. In trying to be more like those at PF Changs I used chicken instead of beef. Since chicken is a bit dryer I doubled all the liquid except the sesame oil (since it's so flavorful). I also added crushed peanuts and bambooshoots. My husband was impressed and told me they were just as good as PF Changs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
My sister and I are vegetarians. Yesterday, we challenged ourselves to go a week without bread, pasta, grains, etc.... Very hard to do as we feel that's what fills us instead of meat. I was looking for a good recipe besides our normal pasta, veggie burgers, fruit, and veggies. I came across this recipe and thought that I could make it using Vegetarian Ground Beef (I prefer Boca). It worked out perfectly. I just made it all in one pot. I substituted ground ginger for fresh and left out the chile and chestnuts. Used a little extra soy sauce, and we toasted some sesame seeds and chopped cashews for some crunch. Next time, I think I'll add some bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I used ground chicken and subbed bamboo shoots for the chestnuts bc i wanted the added crunch...they turned out delicious! I also made extra sauce on the side: 1/4 c plum sauce, a tbsp OJ, 1/2 tsp cornstarch, 1 tbsp teriyaki sauce--boil for 1 minute and let cool. Spread a bit on the meat mixture when eating--tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianamtu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I have made this recipe and loved it, only change was to used fresh minced ginger, since like so many I did not have pickled ginger. This is in my stack of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by covergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I made this as directed minus the water chestnuts and green onions as I didn't have any, but it was still really good. My husband and I have never had PF Chang's (they dont' have them here), but the recipe itself is very good and healthy. We are going to try it with ground turkey next time. We used romaine lettuce because our store didn't have bibb lettuce or butter lettuce, adn the romaine was really sturdy. We are going to have this a lot more often. Thanks for sharing the recipe--a great combo of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I had ground pork in the freezer so I started searching Allrecipes and found this GREAT lettuce wrap recipe. My husband loved it and said it was very impressive. I will place this recipe in my favorites for sure. I did have to add a little more hoisin sauce, because it was a little dry for my taste. The plum sauce and PF Chang sauce recipes posted were the finshing touch needed to complete this recipe. Thank you for the freshing recipe! Plum Sauce: 1/4 c. plum sauce, 1T. OJ, 1/2 t. cornstarch, & 1 t. teriyaki sauce ( I used Soy Vay) boil 1 minute. PF Chang sauce: 1t. sesame oil, 2T. soy, 2T. rice vinegar, & 1T. chile paste ( I didn't have paste, so I used Sriracha Chili sauce) wisk. YUMMY DISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrell, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States