Asian Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I have to give this 5 stars!! For 2 reasons. 1- because although it seems a little intimidating at first glance, with all the different seasonings, it was actually very simple to make. 2 because I used chunks of pork in place of the ground beef :). What an amazing dish and so very pretty!! The flavor is amazing and I'll definitely make this pretty often. It was nice having it ready to eat while I was finishing up the main course. Everyone gathered around the plate and just nibbled and visited. Absolutely a hit!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Dynamite! I didn't have ground beef, so used some thawed chicken breast strips, cut into pieces. I upped the ingredients a bit (a little extra chili sauce, ginger, etc.). I used the romaine lettuce wraps I found at WalMart--super convenient. I, too, added finely chopped peanuts, as had another reviewer. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camilla
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Instead of wrapping the beef in the lettuce I laid it on top added some carrots instead of water chestnuts and added a peanut dipping sauce on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Tried this recipe after eating the wraps at PF Chang's for the second time - love these wraps! I made per the recipe except for subbing regular ginger root for the pickled ginger and I added about a cup of fine chopped mushrooms to cook down with the vegetables. I think I'll get the pickled ginger next time. I used iceberg lettuce for the wraps and I like the idea of making a salad of shredded lettuce then topping with the meat mixture and some sauce. I used ground turkey, but want to try ground pork also. Wonderful recipe! Thank you, Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hertzen
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Doubled this recipe for a gathering picnic in a park. Took in a warming container with the butter lettuce leaves and toppings on the side. Everyone loved it. I added the shredded carrots in at the end of cooking. I used lean ground turkey. After browning the turkey, I pulsed it in a food processor to get it a little finer. Could be made ahead or in stages, like chopping or browning the day before for time and ease of preparation. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Really good! I used ground chicken and it came out tasting great. Would have liked a sauce to go with it like at P.F. Chiang's ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I followed suggestions about additional soy sauce and rice wine vinegar. I didn't use onion, but instead added carrots and served with bean sprouts. Also, I used the soy granules instead of beef. My butter lettuce was holey, so I chopped it up and served the 'meat' over the lettuce and topped with fresh, raw bean sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Substituted ground chicken and added a little more chili sauce (sriacha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
It was very tastey! I used ground turkey and used minced ginger instead of the pickled. I also used half of a red onion and used romaine lettuce in place of the butter. Very easy to make and the flavors are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
My husband is Vietnamese and is very picky when it comes to me trying to do any authentic recipes he grew up on, but this!? He loved! It was requested to make a second time! So I did! The only thing I didn't add was pickled ginger, just used a little ginger paste because that's all I had! Magnificent! I had to double the recipe second time around to be sure there was plenty for left overs! I also used chili garlic sauce instead of just chili sauce, again, all I had! But it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Spicy Chicken Lettuce Wraps

See how to make spicy, Asian-inspired chicken wraps.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States