Asian Lettuce Wraps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Phenomenal recipe. Hubby loved it so I know its a keeper. I followed the recipe exactly as shown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coleman, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JoeRik
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Delicious. I thought ground beef sounded kind of weird, so we used chicken. We omitted the water chestnuts and added sesame seeds. I was really disappointed I was out of ginger, but it tasted great without it. Also, I made my own hoisin sauce using a recipe I found online that was basically soy sauce, peanut butter, garlic, and sesame oil. I couldn't find any of those white airy noodley things that I wanted for crunch, but it didn't matter, this was good enough on its own. Also, I followed someone else's advice and did green onions instead of white. I didn't cook them, just put them right on top with the carrots. Even my five-year old ate this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Fabulous! We used plum sauce instead of hoisin sauce but this was so incredibly delicious and high in protein as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Instead of the ground beef, I used 2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts; I used a pre-made Hawaiian marinade and grilled them. I also had "cole slaw" mix (no dressing) to add to the wraps. This was a huge hit! Also chopped up some cashews for added crunch. Something different and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Loganville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Good by itself but would be much better to add toppings with crunch like noodles or carrot to contrast texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
loved it! Substituted: ground turkey and freshly grated ginger; added some hot sauce and crushed peanuts for additional flavour. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Great recipe! A keeper. :) The water chestnuts gave a fantastic crunchy texture to the dish - so I highly recommend putting them! I just want to ask the creator - where was the shredded carrots and white topping in the recipe? I notice it was on the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This reminded us of an American spin on how an Asian Sloppy Joe might taste. We omitted the cooking and sesame oils to avoid unnecessary fat, forgot to add the pickled ginger, and added the optional Asian chile pepper sauce. Used romaine lettuce as the two types of lettuce leaves suggested by recipe submitter were not available. We had to personalize the seasonings to satisfy our tastes as it was odd tasting without adjustments, and Asian flavor was sadly MIA. Perhaps the Asian ingredients just don’t pair well with hamburger which is uncommon in real Asian dishes. The good news is that it brought back fond memories of my elementary school days when the sloppy Joe sauce would dribble down the kid’s chins onto their shirts and/or laps. Take Rachel’s advice to have plates and napkins ready to go as lettuce leaves elevate ‘sloppy’ to a new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I used other reviewers suggestions on the sauce, and I substituted ground turkey for the beef. I also add frozen edamame and chopped carrots to give it more crunch since I don't like water chesnuts. I use Sriracha instead of chili paste and occasionally serve over brown rice if I don't have lettuce to make a wrap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is definitely better than PF Changs. Only thing I changed was adding a bit of chinese five spice. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Asian Lettuce Wraps

Crunchy lettuce wraps are great for a family-style dinner.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States