Asian-Inspired Mustard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I accidentally bought Mustard Greens instead of Kale (I thought they looked rather light in color). I've never had M.G. They are a bit spicy raw, so I hunted for a recipe to cook them with the hopes that they would taste good. This recipe caught my eye. Simple and surprisingly delicious. I mixed in a little Aji Nori Furikake (seasoned green seaweed and sesame seeds). I will mix this with rice and have for dinner tomorrow. I did not have Sake, so I used a little White Wine Vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RouxZQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The spiciness of raw mustard greens reminds me of wasabi, so I thought this would be intresting to try with the Asian twist. The spiciness mellows to almost nothing. The greens got to bitter for me. I love kale and thought this would be a nice change. I still like kale better and maybe will try this recipe with kale. I paired it with some edamame rice for a nice meatless meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Our supermarket didn't have mustard greens, so I made this with collards, instead. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
The very best recipe for greens I've ever tried. I made black mustard greens from our farmer's market as a side dish tonight with a shrimp fried rice main. This recipe is wonderful. I would note, though, that Mirin is sweetened rice wine, not rice wine vinegar. I did use it (rather than rice vinegar) and we liked the mellow smoothness it added. Using regular rice wine vinegar would result is something more tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I'm trying to expand my "like" list of vegetables beyond spinach, pickles, and green beans. This was a success! If you need more kick, add more garlic - I added an extra teaspoon. I will use this recipe again with mustard greens, but I think it would also be great with kale, collards, and other greens. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I'm usually not a fan of mustard greens because of the bitterness, but this is how I always fix them now. Great recipe! My 1 year-old really likes them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This a great recipe. I used wild mustard from the nearby orange groves so it was fairly hot. Doubling the sugar helped. This recipe would probably be awesome with mild mustard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaJoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
My husband who loves all vegetables enjoyed this recipe. I'm a veggie hater trying to convert to veggies lover. This was too slimy for me. I thought the beans might help it, but no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Mirin isn't vinegar but sweetened rice wine. We just had standard rice vinegar in the pantry and used that. Tasted fine: one of the two vegetable non-enthusiasts in the household had seconds. I'll probably try ginger next time around. If you post any more recipes, trepto, I'd like to know. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States