Asian-Inspired Honey-Vanilla Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I made this with the intentions of finally getting my wife to say she didn't like something I cooked, but this actually ended up being a surprisingly good dish. I didn't use the italian seasoning, as I didn't want anything competing with the sweet and salty flavors. I knew that vanilla can be used with seafood and poultry with positive results, I just couldn't imagine the taste. It was subtle and fragrant, and went surprisingly well, although next time I might cut down on it just a tad, because I can see this dish intimidating people who don't enjoy trying incorporating common flavors into uncommon dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This was pretty good, I wish there was a stronger honey flavor and less of an Italian flavor, though. I don't know if we would make this again. I served this with whole grain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellePaoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
delicious my family enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I give the recipe 4*s and my version of it 5*s of course because it's tweeked to my personal taste buds... When I first read the ingreds it sounded like they may not go together well but surprisingly it merged to make a nice taste as a whole. I personally found the amount of oils too much and so dimmed them down some.. I also put mandarin juice instead of orange juice but a little less than instructed(which REALLY improved the taste in my opinion) and then cut back a tiny bit on the italian spices. Definitely something different yet good enough to not be "weird" tasting. Will be making it again... So thanks for sharing your creation with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was a good, quick meal. The only complaint that the soy was too dominant of a flavor (had to double the recipe). I think we will reduce that just a bit next time...want to taste more of that vanilla. I added some green onions and sesame seeds at the end. Nice idea, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This quickly became a fav among my family. I make it a few times a month. The only thing I have changed when I make it is that I leave out the Italian seasoning. Amazing dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was delicious! I didn't have orange juice or honey, so I put orange marmalade in instead. I omitted the hot sauce. Easy to put together, and cooks in 10-12 minutes under the broiler. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was DELICIOUS. I made it for my mother on Mother's Day, not entirely sure how it would turn out. It did take longer than 8 minutes under the broiler though, but that didn't really bother me. It turned out great, especially if you leave it under just a little longer to get a tiny bit of a burned edge. I found the sauce thickened once left standing, it made a great sauce to dip the chicken in for more flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
We very much liked this recipe. I added only a squeeze of lime at the end to make it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Delicious! I didn't want to stop eating it! More people should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Simple, saucy chicken teriyaki that you bake in the oven.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States