Asian Ground Beef and Pepper Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I made this recipe initially by modifying to make it Vegan for my vegan sister and her husband. I used the soy protein "gound beef" and vegetable broth and it was fantastic - much better than I thought it would be. I have yet to make this using ground beef... but instead prefer ground pork or ground chicken. I use a little more ginger and garlic than this recipe calls for and add water chestnuts for extra crunch. A great recipe that can be made with whatever you have on hand in your vege bin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTownGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I have made this several times and I omitted the ginger and added a little vinegar and a teaspoon of sugar, for the chili paste I use Sriracha hot chili sauce.This is a quick and easy meal that my family loves. I gave the recipe 4 stars because I made changes to suit my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I didn't have fresh ginger so I used powder instead and it still came out really good. A great quick fix when you're running low on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I thought this was great. I found it very versatile. Instead of putting two whole peppers in it, I put a quarter of each and then put a little bit of everything in my fridge, bok choy, zucchini, cauliflower, brocolli, carrot, onion and it was brilliant. I also had some left over rice from the night before, instead of heating it up, I just added it when I added the meat back. I thought the two table spoons of ginger would be over powering but it was lovely. I was also hesitant about adding the chilli as one of our diners isn't the biggest fan of heat but it was great, barely noticable (i would probably add a little extra if it was just me and the hubby). I also needed a little extra stock and soy sauce to account for the extra veggies I added. Thank You for a great stir fry style dish that I could whip up from everything I had at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhombchick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
LOVE this recipe!!! i try to make it at least every week! so flavorful and a great new way to use ground beef! i add the green and red bell pepper and about 2 bags of frozen stir-fry veggies.. make it nice and spicy, served over rice! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was very good! I was worried that ground beef stir fry would be bland, but it was full of flavor. We used ground turkey instead of beef and chicken broth instead of beef broth, otherwise we followed the recipe. Served over brown rice. Filling and satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Considering the amount of flavor components that go into this dish, I found it to be surprisingly bland. Edible, a nice change of pace, but not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This is AMAZING :) I did not have fresh peppers on hand, so I did not add those. This would have more than five stars if it could and I will have to make a double batch next time because nobody got enough of it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by korynball

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This is a wonderful dish - full of flavor and easy to prepare. Usually these type of dishes call for stir-fried steak or steak flank, so I was a bit apprehensive about using ground beef. However, the ground beef tasted great and did not bring the meal 'down'. This is a great, versatile recipe for ground beef - a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I was looking for something different to use ground beef. The flavor was good but we did not like the ground beef in this recipe at all. Would be much better with sliced round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States