Asian Ground Beef and Pepper Saute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Me and my husband adore this recipe! I make it at least once a month. Instead of chili paste (because I can never find it) I use tomatoe paste and I add all the sauces until it tastes right to me. If it looks dry, I add chicken or beef broth. We love to mix the left overs with the rice and put in the fridge for the next day. Tastes even better the next day for lunch! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Quick, easy, and tasty. I couldn't find chili paste, so I used this Thai sweet and spicy chili sauce instead and it was fine. I would like to find the chili paste and try it next time I make it (there will be a next time). I also doubled the sauce mixture and for us, that would have been necessary. I used just red pepper and I added shredded carrots, broccoli, and cabbage. I think mushrooms would be good as well. Overall, very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was fantastic...I kind of miscalculated the amounts of ginger and garlic, but the result was fantastic. The ginger plays a key role in the dish, and it compliments the hot of the red pepper, and the tang of the garlic perfectly. I didn't use red bells, because of the cost in my area(at $2.99a pound, you'd probably agree), but the green pepper was perfect, nontheless. I did have to make my own chile paste using tomato paste, hot sauce, chile owder, and paprika, but the effect was the same. Everyone gobbledit up, and my friend, an aspiring chef, told me that he would make this at home, quite the compliment. Thank you for such a great way to use ordinary ground beef!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mastic Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I was pretty impressed with this dish. I was trying to find something quick and easy to use the ground turkey and brocolli in my fridge. I didn't have chile paste nor green peppers and used chicken broth instead of beef and it turned out wonderful. My daughter loved it and it is very versatile. Throw in what ever veggies you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This was really yummy. Instead of rice, I served it with lettuce cups and a quick sauce made of equal parts soy sauce, rice vinegar, and chile paste. Spicy, flavorful, and crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUCKOOBIRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was fast and easy and good! I used ground ginger, frozen sliced red, green and yellow peppers with onion and beef soup base. I added sliced water chestnuts for a little added crunch. This recipe could be so versatile. Just add veggies you like ( broccoli would be good). If you enjoy aisian food, you should really like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
A very good meal! I used only green bell peppers to save $$ and tomato paste instead of chile. Also, I quadrupled the liquids. And, I served it with brown rice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This has become a regular for our family. Substitute more crushed red pepper for the chile paste, and I add a lot more ginger and garlic for a bolder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Fast, easy and very good. Thanks, Amanda! On the second time I made this, I added a diced yellow onion when cooking the beef and more than doubled the sauce ingredients (1 C beef stock,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I only had one yellow pepper, but it worked out. I'm sure it is even better with the correct amount of peppers, no matter what color. I subbed 1 tbsp of dried parsley and a little more than 1 tsp of ground ginger. Since I did not have low-sodium soy sauce, I did regular and omitted the extra salt. I used Thai chili sauce for the paste, and basmati rice instead of jasmine. Jasmine rice is too much like eating perfume for me. Overall, I thought this dish was really easy, and really tasty, and I look forward to making it with the right amount of peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States